Migrating a .co.uk email domain name

developer

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
8,205
Car
Volvo V90 D5 AWD
Hello guys,

My current home office PC needs replacing - old, poor capacity, running Vista.

It has Microsoft Office Outlook 2003-2013 where I access my email@domainname.co.uk email account.

If I buy a new desktop, what will I need to enable me to carry on using my email@domainname.co.uk email account?

Am I right in saying that, unlike a Hotmail account, my email@domainname.co.uk email can only be accessed via the home office pc, or can I access it elsewhere - currently when I'm away from home I can't access my emails - am I missing something?
 

markmifsud

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
2,288
Location
North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
Car
CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
as long as you have the correct protocols enabled, then you can access your .co.uk from anywhere you want.

All you need are the account details, then you can use outlook, webapp or even your smartphone email app.
 
OP
OP
developer

developer

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
8,205
Car
Volvo V90 D5 AWD
as long as you have the correct protocols enabled, then you can access your .co.uk from anywhere you want.

All you need are the account details, then you can use outlook, webapp or even your smartphone email app.
Thanks Mark - what's that in English?
 

markmifsud

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
2,288
Location
North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
Car
CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
as a basic you will need
your logon account, normally your email john@developer.co.uk
your password, 123456
your server type, imap, pop3 or even exchange
the address for your server ie imap.developer.co.uk

Go into your current email system, and go to the account section, you will see everything you need there, apart from your password.

With these details you should be able to setup your email on another device and on a smart phone.
 

davidjpowell

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
4,903
Location
Doncaster
Car
Range Rover Vogue, Volvo XC60 and crappy Pug 307
and also possibly a current .pst folder.

Personally I'd suggest google apps or the Microsoft equivalent which means that your emails live in the cloud, get industry grade virus protection, and are not at risk if your pc fails... all for less than 1/8th of a tank of fuel a month.
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
29,057
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
In order to use Outlook on the new PC, you will need to either have the installation files and license key from the old Outlook available, or otherwise purchase a new copy of Ms-Office Home and Business 2016 (which included Ms-Word, Excel, and Outlook) or just Outlook 2016 (as standalone software).

As others said, nothing needs to be done on the email server side. All that is required is for Outlook on your new PC to have the email account configured in the exact same way as it is currently configured on your old PC.

All of the email current account settings can be manually copied across from the old PC to the new PC, apart from the email account password which you should have to hand as it cannot be copied from the old PC.

With regards to your existing mailbox' content (i.e. all of your old/stored messages), they will be in stored a local PST file which can be copied across as well. Said that, in some cases the local PST file is simply a copy of the email that is kept on the server (aka 'cached mode'), in which case the new email account will automatically create a new copy of the old/stored email messages on the new PC, i.e. in this case the old PST file will not need to be copied across. But this will depend on the email service provider and the way your email has been set-up.
 

Stratman

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
4,850
Location
Sunbury
Car
W203 C200 CDI '04Estate
If you can't find or remember an account setting or password, Mail Pass View is a handy standalone (doesn't need installing, runs as an .exe file) utility which will tell all.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom