Mileage digital read out faulty

RobMorris

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
72
Location
Aveley, essex
Car
W210 E300 TD
Hello

The Mileage digital read out works sometimes, sometimes not.
The mileage increases to stay correct so what whould i look out for?

Cheers
 

jefrs

Active Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
617
Location
Berkshire
Car
S210 E320 Avantgarde '98 full load
I suspect they're just invisible.

Pull the dash display and replace the little bulbs that illuminate.

To get display out you need to lower the steering wheel and insert a hook between dash unit and facia at the wooden strip. Turn hooks and pull. An "L" shaped hook from wire coat hanger or stiffer stuff, I think I used a brazing rod.
Intermittent could be dodgy connection, twist bulb holders and check edge connectors (you'll understand when you get it out).

Get bulbs from MB.
 
OP
OP
R

RobMorris

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
72
Location
Aveley, essex
Car
W210 E300 TD
Thanks Jefrs - thats a great help.
Bulb wise - the digital display seems to illuminate but doesnt show any information.

Can I go to the breakers and replace the whole unit? Mileage will be picked up by my car right (not the doner car)?
 
OP
OP
R

RobMorris

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
72
Location
Aveley, essex
Car
W210 E300 TD
Ive found the below on ebay - it looks to be a direct 'like for like' replacement
http://api.viglink.com/api/click?fo...em41595585df&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13128117637083
....apart from the miles - mine goes up to 160mph and this replacement goes to 140.
Obviously I wont be going over 70mph let alone 140mph but i dont want to be doing 80mph and the clocks show 70mph for example. Will it sort itself out right and i should be safe getting these?
 
Last edited:

rascalmaster

MB Enthusiast
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
1,411
Location
harwich, essex. UK
Car
Brabus D5 (E280 CDI) Avantgarde, E280 CDI Sport Estate, E320 Avantgarde now sold

rascalmaster

MB Enthusiast
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
1,411
Location
harwich, essex. UK
Car
Brabus D5 (E280 CDI) Avantgarde, E280 CDI Sport Estate, E320 Avantgarde now sold
Ive found the below on ebay - it looks to be a direct 'like for like' replacement
MERCEDES-BENZ E-CLASS W210 SPEEDO CLOCKS SPEEDOMETER | eBay
....apart from the miles - mine goes up to 160mph and this replacement goes to 140.
Obviously I wont be going over 70mph let alone 140mph but i dont want to be doing 80mph and the clocks show 70mph for example. Will it sort itself out right and i should be safe getting these?

nope; that's fraught with risk.... besides, you change the unit, and you'll need to get it starred etc... much better to repair the existing cluster...
 

rascalmaster

MB Enthusiast
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
1,411
Location
harwich, essex. UK
Car
Brabus D5 (E280 CDI) Avantgarde, E280 CDI Sport Estate, E320 Avantgarde now sold
Cheers mate - how muh did you pay?

I paid £90 but I had cream crackered the LCD display... :eek:

So they changed the main LCD and also changed all three display ( mine is a 2001 facelift) ribbon connectors which are a known source of display issues on the 210s.

They know what they r doing which is reassuring ;-)
 

Dieselman

Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2003
Messages
34,206
Car
Peugeot 403 Convertible
Thanks Jefrs - thats a great help.
Bulb wise - the digital display seems to illuminate but doesnt show any information.

Can I go to the breakers and replace the whole unit? Mileage will be picked up by my car right (not the doner car)?

What does it show then. The LCD display is backlit to show the numbers.

The mileage and vehicle coding is held by the display unit.
 

jefrs

Active Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
617
Location
Berkshire
Car
S210 E320 Avantgarde '98 full load
Thanks Jefrs - thats a great help.
Bulb wise - the digital display seems to illuminate but doesnt show any information.

Can I go to the breakers and replace the whole unit? Mileage will be picked up by my car right (not the doner car)?

There's more than one bulb, only part of mine disappeared, one bulb blown.
With the bulb out the display appears blank.

Otoh it could be a connector onto the display itself from the flexible circuit. Or the display could be loose in its fitting.

I would poke it about a bit more before buying bits.
 
OP
OP
R

RobMorris

Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
72
Location
Aveley, essex
Car
W210 E300 TD
OK so here are my clocks

With flash
101.jpg


yet to drive the car in the dark so appears I have a few bulbs out
Note the digital part light is on but no display
102.jpg


Once ive pulled the keys ut
103.jpg
 

jefrs

Active Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
617
Location
Berkshire
Car
S210 E320 Avantgarde '98 full load
You temperature gauge has lit up but not the fuel, tacho and speedo, you definitely have dash bulbs out.
There are many bulbs. Some do illumination of dials. Warning lamps. And LCD display.
Some also dim with the +/- buttons and brighten up/down with the driving lamps on or off. If they have been dimmed right down then you are not going to see much.

The purple glow is probably just the LCD, imo you wont see the numbers without the back lighting from the suite of bulbs.
Can you make out any numbers on the LCD at all?

Mine did that but with the clock...
I could /just/ make out the numbers in favourable light.

Bulbs is cheap. Test bulbs with ohmmeter.
 

nigel cross

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
2,414
Location
Surrey
Car
W164 ML350 Audi S4
With the lights on, turn the trip reset button clockwise to increase the brightness
 

rascalmaster

MB Enthusiast
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
1,411
Location
harwich, essex. UK
Car
Brabus D5 (E280 CDI) Avantgarde, E280 CDI Sport Estate, E320 Avantgarde now sold
i didnt know there was a dimmer - where is it?

You can see buttons on either side of the instrument cluster in the photo on your eBay link... If not the dial/ knob, then these buttons should have control of the instrument cluster brightness...
 

jefrs

Active Member
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
617
Location
Berkshire
Car
S210 E320 Avantgarde '98 full load
Like wot I said above, the dimming is the + and - buttons (above the 0 button, which it the tacho trip reset and multifunction on 210). You need to read the handbook.

But you do definitely have bulbs gone. Pull it out and test them. Quite Easily Done.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom