ML fuel gauge stuck on full

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Smiffy212

Car
Mercedes ML 280 CDI
Hi hope someone can help please. I’ve a 2008 ML. The fuel gauge is stuck on full. It’s not been a problem as I just make sure it’s got diesel in it but I need to drive to Spain later this year so I need to get it fixed. I looked on here and some people have said it could be a fuse or to try another simple thing with the odometer or it could be a faulty resistor.

I’m not very good with things like this so I went to my usual garage to see if they can find the fault. Having told them what I had found on here.

He has come back saying it’s the fuel feed unit and I need to buy a new fuel pump. With fitting it’s over £1000. I questioned it but he was certain I needed a new pump. Can someone tell me if this is correct or am I being stitched up?

Would be very grateful for help.

What is the chance of 2 people having the same problem...

Maybe it’s common. How you getting on with yours and any investigations - are you being told new pump?

Dont know if this is any use:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

On EPC it looks like the pump and the level sensor are all in one, and like your mechanic says, it would all want replacing if the reset doesnt work.
It doesnt look a hard job to do, but apparently you have to drain the tank, so best to let a garage do it.
Most likely he is quoting dealer prices for the pump, he would probably be happy to let you source one, and let him fit it.
I have attached the WIS instructions for replacing the unit.
Bear in mind that these instructions are for a ML WDB 164120, which is the ML280 fourmatic, but shouldnt be different for any of the ML series of that age.
You will also need a fitting kit.