Motoring magazines. Is it just me?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

John Jones Jr

MB Enthusiast
Car
Mazda MX5 10AE, W201 2.5-16, W202 230K Sport man, Honda Accord & Suzuki 'Ricer'.
Firstly Happy Christmas and New Year to one and all. :thumb:

So, my annual subscription for Car magazine expired last year and I didn't bother to renew it. I'm unsure why I didn't as I've been purchasing the magazine since 1981/82. Anyway, I purchased both December and January's editions for something to read over the Christmas break. Well, all I can say I'm somewhat disappointed after reading them or reading what I reckoned was the more interesting articles.

Out of several dozen new cars or models there's only three that took my fancy - BMW M2 , Honda NSX and the Ford Focus RS. And none are ideal, ranging from being impractical, too expensive or have a image problem.

Is it me or am I just getting old?

Firstly Happy Christmas and New Year to one and all. :thumb:

So, my annual subscription for Car magazine expired last year and I didn't bother to renew it. I'm unsure why I didn't as I've been purchasing the magazine since 1981/82. Anyway, I purchased both December and January's editions for something to read over the Christmas break. Well, all I can say I'm somewhat disappointed after reading them or reading what I reckoned was the more interesting articles.

Out of several dozen new cars or models there's only three that took my fancy - BMW M2 , Honda NSX and the Ford Focus RS. And none are ideal, ranging from being impractical, too expensive or have a image problem.

Is it me or am I just getting old?

I gave up with it after the demise of Setright - I bought it primarily because I so enjoyed his writings .

Not by me unfortunately.
I found him to be a pompous know it all who thought that his views had to be right.
If something was technically superior it was therefore better.