my car is pulling to one side over potholes and drains

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ibrahimx2001

Car
2005 c220 cdi sport edition
hi all,
as above.
i have just purchased a c220 cdi sport.
the other day i drove over a drain and noticed it pulls and sort of jumps to the left as i went over it.
this happened a few times and i was thinking maybe its due to being a rear wheel drive. ( i am new to rear wheel).
the other day i was just having a look and the tyres to see if the tread on them are low but the were still above the minimum legal limit.
as i was looking at them i decided to check the gap between the wheel arch near the front of the rear tyres and on the passenger side i could fit 4 fingers in between and on the drivers side i can fit only 3 fingers.
it seems that the previous owner has hit a curb or something to knock the wheel back?
i was just wondering if this is fixable? and roughly how much it would cost if it is?

sorry for the long description.

thanks in advance

i would have thought its something to do with the rear links or something like that?

id go get the tracking done first and see what they say.
when under there they could look and see if theres any play anywhere else etc

ok ill go when i get a day off after new years. i think all the garages are closed until 2nd jan.
thanks for your help.

also this issue can be repaired if a link is bent?

Have you got the same size tyres on the rear? if yes check the spring and shock,if it's
a slight steering snatch check the lower ball joint on the n/s front.

i have 245/40/17 on the rears and 225/45/17 on the front
is this the correct tyres sizes as 2 garages said this is whats meant to be on them from manufacturer.

the suspension looks absolutely fine tbh but haven't had the car on a ramp so when i go to get the tracking done i will have a proper look around

Last edited:
Have you got the same size tyres on the rear? if yes check the spring and shock,if it's