My First MB

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ady

Car
E 220d Estate
Hi Everyone,

I have been browsing around for a few days trying to catch up. It looks like a nice community here with a good core of regular supporters. I hope I will be able to make some positive input one-day once I have my car and have learnt a bit.

I am off to Stuttgart on Friday to pick up my first MB :bannana: so if anyone has any tips for the day or accounts of their experiences I would be grateful.
My 8-year-old daughter is exited about the factory tour so I just hope she is old enough or I will be in trouble. Still we are stopping at Phantasialand on the way back so that should get me off the hook :) .

Are the main roads through Germany Toll roads?

I must admit I am feeling a bit nervous now about driving a virgin car all that way especially after reading some of the threads about reliability and service. I have been driving a Lexus GS300 for the last three years and it has never given me a bit of trouble so I just hope the E220 will be the same. I have been dealing with Tony Purslow at Guildford for the purchase and I have been very impressed so far so I will keep everything crossed that they are as good with the after care.

Thanks

Ady

Hi Ady. We have just ordered our first MB ( 18months wait ) and are thinking about going to the factory to pick it up. What was the trip like, how long did you get to bring the car home, was it worth it.

Welcome.

As far as I know there are no Toll Roads in Germany. Sites below have useful info.

http://home.att.net/~texhwyman/auto.htm

http://www.drivingabroad.co.uk/driving_tips_countries/Germany/driving_in_germany.htm

Watch out for the sections with mandatory speed restrictions. These are tightly enforced and can seem remarkably low on certain sections. General experience is that if you are going faster than most anyone else in sight you may be in a restricted area. If you overtake a Porsche 911 then you are!