Need help on updating SAT NAV NTG5.5

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

oonup

Car
C220d W205 FL
Hi, I've been trying to get it to work for a few days but still no luck;

I have the C220d (W205 FL), checked the VIN, it has both;
355PREINSTALLATION FOR NAVIGATION RETROFITTING
506AUDIO 20 RADIO NAVIGATION-CAPABLE NTG 5.5

Currently, I've been using the "SD Card for Navigation 2019" V2.5 Map3.1, but I'm trying to update it to the latest version, according to the "COMAND Download Manager", it's V12 with a huge 23.22GB files

I successfully downloaded and copied the file into USB stick (NTFS), the files on the USB stick looks like this

NTG.JPG

then I put the USB to my car.. nothing happened..... tried both slots (as I read, it should have some kind of pop-up or notification to update the system)

Not sure which part went wrong, or my car system simply doesn't support the USB update like other NTG5.5?

I'm willing to get the Code (PIN) from dealer but I don't even see any pop-up to enter the Code

any advice, please?

I think what you have downloaded is the map data for comand navigation but you have audio 20, I think you need to buy an updated sd card with the new maps for audio 20. I think the maps are garmin but I stand to be corrected.

What you likely have is Audio20 with Garmin Map Pilot navigation on SD-Card. So ignore anything that says 'COMAND'.

You can use the MB Download Manager for Garmin to update the navigation software on the SD-Card, but not the maps data.

If you want to update the maps data, you'll need to buy a new SD-Card (which will also have the newer navigation software).

(For the first 3 years you can get free maps update online from MB, but not after).

EDIT: to clarify, COMAND NTG5.5 and Audio20 NTG5.5 are two very different systems, in spite of the similarity in the name.