New buyer's advice on C-Class

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

darksoldier

Car
C220
Hello all

Please forgive me for potentially asking about issues that have previously been discussed - I have searched endlessly and whilst have found some of the answers, my head is already hurting from the volume of information I have had to process. So I am resorting to the simple(r) option of getting everything in one thread and specific to my own circumstances.

I am new to MBs and am looking to potentially buy a second-hand C-class, most likely C220 CDI (08 plate onwards). I am yet to test drive one so have not yet decided whether I want the Sport or the Elegance. I do mainly motorway miles and running costs and efficiency will be important to me. So my general questions are as follows:

1. Apart from the looks and suspension, are there any other major differences between the Sport and Elegance/SE?

2. Automatic or Manual?

3. I presume the C220 will be more fuel efficient than the higher specs like C250 and above?

4. Is the BlueEfficiency something that is likely to make much of a difference? Also is it still risky to buy one considering the fuel injector issues or do I assume that if anything would have gone wrong with it then it should have been resolved by now?

5. Any particular issues I should be aware of in relation to what I am after?

6. Would getting a 4-5 years old car with 100k+ mileage be an issue these days?

7. Any tips on where it is possible to find decent deals for such cars, apart from the dealers and private buyers that advertise in the usual places?

Thank you in advance for your time

well maybe you can point me in the right direction regarding that issue too, from what I gather the W203 was only used up to certain date (2007 sometime?) so I suppose if I go for something 08 plate onwards I will be getting a W204? That is my limited knowledge in the subject...

W203 1999-2007

W204 2007-