new style mot certificate

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ghummy

Car
Mercedes Benz c220 (w203 2005)
hi people, sorry if this is in the wrong section

today i had my mot, i went to the garage that i have been using for the past 9 years. The car passed, this was expected as it is a mercedes after all.

but when he issued me the pass certificate, it was just printed on a normal plain a4 piece of a paper, when i asked him what was this supposed to be, he said that its the new style because its all electronical now and they dont give out the other style. (which i had from december 2010)

please can someone enlighten me, as ive never seen these and just wondering if the post office will recognise it come tax time next month

thanks

It is right. :thumb:

Where your vehicle is tested on or after the 16 October 2011 you will receive a new style of MOT certificate. This will be printed on plain paper in a landscape format instead of a pre-printed coloured form. Changes to the certificates are part of an ongoing drive to reduce costs and wastage.

Your MOT certificate : Directgov - Motoring

I don't like these new cert's myself, I've already heard of dodgey traders simply cutting out the advisory section, photo copying it, then they have an MOT with no advisories on :eek: (on paper anyway)

I wonder if they will start printing money the same way soon, to save even more money??

please can someone enlighten me, as ive never seen these and just wondering if the post office will recognise it come tax time next month.

I taxed my car at the Post Office last week with a new style MOT certificate with no problem.

Presumably this will make dodgy M.O.T. certificates even easier to print, or are they barcoded ?

What are you going to do with a dodgy M.O.T. certificate?