newb to the site

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

chrislawton

Car
w202 230k esprit mazda mx5 mk2 1.8 gsxr-1000
Hi all. Ive been lurking on this site for a while so i thought id introduce myself.
I live near exeter and have access to mb star if anyone local needs any diag done (free) :thumb:
I am a self employed mechanic and one of my customers recently emigrated so i bought his retro w202 c230k esprit. It looks like its had a fair bit of engine work done to it looking at the invoices. There is also a dyno print out @249bhp. It certainly feels quick!!
car was recently resprayed but the guy that owned it before me felt the need to put a huge bloody mercedes sticker down each side. Im worried if i start to peel it off even with a hairdryer it may take the paint with it:wallbash: any ideas???
Anyway...looks like a nice friendly and informative forum you guys have here!

Pity about the stickers but I would also be a bit worried about peeling them off, especially if they were applied shortly after a respray.

Welcome aboard.

Choose one end or a corner, and make a start on the sticker. I would think it would be become evident pretty quickly whether or not it will come off without bringing the paint. Good luck.

Obviously dependant upon the type of adhesive used to apply the stickers, but many years ago I had to hire a commercial vehicle for a week and they gave me the option of having it with or without signwriting. I said preferably without, thinking they had vehicles with and without their name on, however, upon this they promptly removed all their details from the sides and back of one with signwriting/lettering on, with a commercial steam cleaner (the type used for cleaning HGV chassis). Only took 10 minutes and no damage to the paintwork whatsoever.

Worth a try if you know of any local haulage firms or garages who would have one of these?
Bear in mind though, are they covering any nasty surprises?

Last edited:
Welcome :)