Newbie and some advice.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rmaya

Car
ML350CDI BlueTech AMG-Line W166
Hi,

I am a newbie however in need of some advice.

Looking to buy an ML350CDI (2015) I have found a car on Autotrader that meets my needs, agreed on a price with the seller and did an HPI check on it which came clear and indicated the car had MOT. However, when i went to the government website I couldn't find any MOT on the car since it was bought. The first one should have been done on 2018 so someone has been running this car for more than 2 years without an MOT.

I am not sure how to approach it as its not really close to me so that I can go and see it. The guy seems ok and has provided all the info I asked with regards to the car.

Should I just walk away? I was going to fly in order to buy it this Saturday.

Has he got a paper copy of the MOT ? You could ring the garage named on it to check .
Could the mot have been done on a personal number plate that has been changed for sale ?

It's weird cause i now checked on the gov web site if the vehicle is taxed and MOT'd and it states it is. It is only on the MOT history website that it does not come up at all?

Ask for the previous MOT details or last garage that did it.
Could be a private plate thats recently been put back to age-related. MOT site can take a while to update.
If you can get the paperwork then no reason to walk away.
Garage or private?

Private 70k miles good price 2015 model. Has a total of 5 services 4 including the last one in MB. The car looks good only thing i could fault was that it has the fake leather seats, however, they look spotless.

Anything I should be worried about on the 350d V6 engine?

Has the car been in NI? The MOT history from NI may not show up.