Newbie Assist

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ChadBoyracer

Car
C180 W202 and Merc 500k Rep.
Fellow Benzers.

I’m Chad. Based in South Africa. (+27713623559) “Whatsapp”
Owner of a W202 C180 and another collectible old lady.

I’m new to this environment so do advise if I’m on the wrong path or if another thread exists covering this topic or sort of repair.

My issue as follows: My W202 C180 “Slug”, only has one High Beam working when I turn the Light Switch Module to Parks or Low beam. Just one High Beam lamp comes on during any setting on the switch. My Stick Lever doesn’t allow me to Flash the high beam either. In fact using the stick to control lights have no effect what so ever lol. What would cause this? How do I fix it? I currently have no lights at all.

Second question.
Behind my Streering there are a bunch of wires. Included in this are two wires in inquiring about. Solid White and a Solid Yellow wire. What are they for?

These are the wires.

Attachments

• CF8B1249-8C2A-4389-860F-714997C620FD.jpeg
    CF8B1249-8C2A-4389-860F-714997C620FD.jpeg
    751.8 KB · Views: 11
Sorry, Chad, can't help you with your problem,
but Welcome, anyway... :)

These are the wires.

Well, thats a mess!
Your Violet and yellow wire, and your what looks like black wire underneath, have had scotchlok connectors on them, maybe for an aftermarket stereo, or possibly a pair of spotlights? Whatever, get them insulated properly before you do anything else.
By properly, I would suggest that if you dont already have one, get a soldering iron, and learn how to solder, its not difficult.
When you can solder, snip these wires, and solder them back together, using shrink wrap.
I know its tempting to use insulating tape, but that dries out, then falls off.