Newbie goes from Alfa to Merc

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jamieandthemagi

Car
C220 CDI SE Exec Estate, 1971 Alfa Giulia GT 1300 Junior
Hello All, proper newbie here, not even been lurking.

Just changed from my Alfa 159 Sportwagon to Co Car C220 Estate SE Exec.

Couldnt afford to keep the Alfa going on the mileage that Im now doing, so opted back into the Co car scheme after being out of it with the Alfa for 4 years.

Only had the car 1 week (62 plate).

The new SE Exec comes with a few extra goodies like the LED running lights, sports grille etc... so the only other addition I added was the storage pack.

But what Ive noticed so far;
lovely motorway muncher
Quite a lot less sporting to drive (but then it doesnt have the sports pack)
engine makes a lovely rumble/roar when you put your foot down.
much more progressive throught the rev range - the alfa was more bang around 3000 to 4000, the merc is power all the way through.
The boot is tiny !!! guess thats due to the rear diff making the boot florr so high.
Love the auto boot
Only thing this doesnt have that the Alfa did - folding mirrors - but they are a lot smaller. & auto dimming rear mirror.
Havnt found a great seating position yet....give it time.
sussed the onboard controller - telephone system a bit clunky compaired to the aftermarket Parrot MKi9200 I had, but the rest of it is very nice.
Still struggling to get used to the parking brake and all the controls on a single stalk.

given it 1000 miles already.

So the next car will be a Zil?

Welcome!

No Zils here, Still keeping my Alfa fix alive with this;

7054553105_566077f202.jpg

must get some shots of the new motor.

Those twin Weber GTA's were a dream to drive.

Welcome to the forum Jamie, I love those classic Alfas and out of more recent cars, I especially love the Brera.