Newbie here and need some advice on buying an e class

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

benjaminD

Car
None at the moment.
Hi MB Club folks,

I'm Ben. I've been a Merc fan for many years and as a treat, we got an upgrade to an eclass on a hire car, soooo long story short. I want to buy one.

I have an appointment to test drive one at Evans Halshaw but want to know what to look for when on the hunt for a good eclass.

Where in the forum would I post about this?

Cheers,

Ben :)

Hi Ben

Would be helpful to know what sort of info you're after? Which model year are you looking at [New or Used]? Saloon, Estate or Coupe? Do you need advice on which engine to go for? Optional Extras etc..

Hi MB Club folks,

I'm Ben. I've been a Merc fan for many years and as a treat, we got an upgrade to an eclass on a hire car, soooo long story short. I want to buy one.

I have an appointment to test drive one at Evans Halshaw but want to know what to look for when on the hunt for a good eclass.

Where in the forum would I post about this?

Cheers,

Ben :)
If you do a search on user "AntMB", you will see that he has recently asked that very question and there is wealth of information there

NB: E-class rocks!

What year/engine?

hi Ben

in no particular order

Obviously look for a full service history (including ATF Change at or around 40k miles?) - not necessarily main dealer
Sat Nav Maps updated? (not cheap, so check how upto date they are)
Not sure that is FULL leather (poor photos) if that is important to you
All the 'toys' work?
Any rumbles or squeaks when driving it - E classes should be quiet
Brakes and tyres in good condition?
It the facelift interior, so nice...
Can't comment on price, but black is a bugga to keep shiny 'n clean......:confused:

Let us know

i just want to add evans halshaw is full of money greedy salespeople, they don't do after sales stuff very well after they have your money so be careful in that regard

hi Ben