Newbie looking to join the classic mercedes ownership dream

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Theador

Car
C63 BiTurbo Estate W205
Newbie here, please be nice :cool:

After never having owned a Mercedes and not having owned a classic for some 10-15 years now; I've fallen in love with the W123's.

So I'm looking for all the info I can get, and then hopefully to get hold of one.

Thank-you, I look forward to pestering you all with questions in the near future; oh, and please tell me if I've got the wrong forum.

Kris

Hello and welcome to the forum. The 123 is an excellent example of simple elegance. Jolly nice cars. I'm sure there are plenty of people on here that can help out with advise and recommendations.

I had a 230ce pillarless coupe - lovely car.

Set drivers seat to `relaxed position`, drape your arm over the centre armrest, snick the auto into `D` and pilot the old Merc using thumb and forefinger and savour the ride, it`s the only way to drive one!

In an age where every car manufacturer thinks we need hard, jarring `sports` suspension the gently damped, pliable set-up on a 123 is joy.
My 230 engine was smooth and torquey - went surprisingly well when in kick-down mode and would easily squirt past middle-lane motorway malingerers.

Wind down all four windows, and waft around in pillarless glory.

On the down side, rust...
Rust, rust,rust.
All mechanicals can be fixed easily with readily-available parts, but check everywhere for expensive to fix rust.

1235.jpg