No outdoor temp gauge? In a £50k car???

m0nkfish

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
2
Car
ML 420 cdi (w164)
Hi all,

I've just bought my first Merc (a 2008 ML 420 cdi) and have been delighted with it so far.... Except for the utterly dumb km/h display and the lack of outdoor temp reading. I've read previous threads relating to this and understand that a) its a UK legislation thing, and b) STAR diags can get around this as long as you are very au fait with it - which apparently the indie dealers aren't; not to the required level of STAR sub-menus written in German anyway.

The MBclub thread I read was an old one: So my question to you good people is this - are any of you able to put me in touch with a Benz genius who knows how to change km/h to mph on the main display, or even get it to display the temperature!

Any help or advice would be massively appreciated,

Tim
 

Dieselman

Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2003
Messages
34,206
Car
Peugeot 403 Convertible
I know someone, but they are in the outer Hebradies. Is that any good for you?
 

npuk

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
4,239
Location
London
Car
A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
You can also see outside temp in the main display where you see the mileage etc.
 

renault12ts

MB Club Veteran
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
16,212
Car
2005 W215 CL500.
£50k for a 5 year old ML!!!
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
27,020
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
Alfie did mine as well.

Just to say that no one seems to know for certain where MB's 'UK Mode' originated from....

It is evidently not UK legislation because many other cars sold in the UK don't have it.

My Renault could display either MPH or KPH but not both at the same time, and as far as I am aware this is the case with other cars as well, all perfectly legal in the UK...
 

effbee584

Active Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
523
Location
Norwich
Car
Jag XF 3.0S and 10 yr old Micra 1.2 auto with Air Con.
My Indie recently tried, at my suggestion, to change the small permanent kph to oat, as we know Alfie can do; however, although the display did change, using STAR, it would not stay that way when STAR was disconnected. They reckoned there must be some link to MB required that they had not got access to. I am a long way from Alfie so will live with it.
By now we should have electronic VDU speedos that can easily be changed at the push of a button or in a menu, between mph and kph, especially on the top of range Mercedes.
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
27,020
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
...or we can just use a freebie GPS speed app on iPhone/Android to see the car's speed in any units we want.

Or Torque with OBDII to see what the ECU thinks our speed is.

Or have a slot for tablet PC or iPad instead on the instrument cluster?
 
OP
OP
M

m0nkfish

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
2
Car
ML 420 cdi (w164)
Thanks all for your replies - I'll seek out the legendary Alfie (its a bit inconvenient to drive to the outer hebrides from Maidenhead lol!) its such a strange issue.
I'd love an android tablet for a display, that would be ace just being able to add functionality... I have a feeling a couple of car makers already do this in an albeit limited way.
And finally... Rest assured red baron, I didn't pay £50k lol
Tim
 

nigel cross

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
2,414
Location
Surrey
Car
W164 ML350 Audi S4
That handy Alfie is only in Lightwater / Camberly
 

Rory

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Mar 12, 2005
Messages
7,349
Location
Cheshire, UK
Car
C270CDi Estate (late 2004 facelift model)
I'm not that bothered about the temp display, but I do find myself calculating MPH from the KPH display all the time - not always easy (for me!) to do the maths with some KPH speeds and I really ought to be concentrating on driving. :)

I set the cruise control by the KPH reading too.
 

peter49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
142
Location
Conwy
Car
C320 CDi
By now we should have electronic VDU speedos that can easily be changed at the push of a button or in a menu, between mph and kph, especially on the top of range Mercedes.
Totally agree. These facilities are standard on my wife's Yaris at the press of a button!
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom