Noobie Intro

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

st13phil

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
His - Denim Blue A220 AMG Line Premium / Hers - Obsidian Black R172 SLK55
Just a quick post to introduce myself...

Been lurking around this and other MB forums since I decided to buy into the brand and thought it was about time I put my head above the parapet so to speak.

I've been driving Company Cars for the last 8 years (current one is a Golf GTI TDI PD 150) but decided to take the cash option this time so that I could have what I want rather than what someone else tells me I can have. I've always fancied a Merc and came close to buying one about 10 years ago, but that foray was brought to an abrupt halt when my then (and now firmly ex-) wife decided she would prefer half my posessions for her sole enjoyment rather than share them with me
icon_eek.gif
I've got my chance now though, and I'm taking it
icon_cool.gif

I did consider other marques but settled on the Benz because I'm bored with VW's, Audi dealers charge a fortune for being supremely indifferent to any problem you may have (yes, I know some MB dealers are masters of that art too), Lexus are boring-snoring, and I don't want a BMW because I like people letting me out of side turnings and not giving me rude gestures on the motorway just because of the car I drive.

So in September I ordered a C220 Cdi Elegance Auto. Couldn't see the point of going for the Sport as my wife has an R56 Mini Cooper S which, frankly, will run rings around a C220 Cdi Sport if I want to go lane bashing so elected for the more traditional comfort and serenity approach. I've specified Factory Collection and the latest info I have is that I'll be going to Sindelfingen in mid-January

Interests include motorcycle touring on a Honda ST1300 Pan-European (went to Romania this summer - that was an interesting trip), live music (audience not participant), and drinking more wine than's good for me
rolleyes.gif