Norton vs Firefox

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by Dryce, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. Dryce

    Dryce MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Car:
    ..
    Had a call this morning from a friend who couldn't browse after Firefox updated itself to 3.0.4.

    So after being stupid enough to get involved in this timewasting exercise it turned out only Firefox was failing - moreover it was able to resolve the website DNS but couldn't connect. Firefox settings looked fine - no proxies or anything strange. No IPV6 funnies. Cache and cookies were all cleared just in case.

    I discovered that turning off the firewall didn't fix it, reinstalling an older version of Firefox didn't fix it, winding back the system to a previous restore point didn't fix it, hitting it with a sledgehammer wouldn't have fixed it.

    My least favourite Anti-Virus software was installed - Norton Internet Security. So that was removed.

    Problem solved.

    I am really really p*ss*d off with Norton - yet again. Turning off the firewall had no effect. Adding Firefox explicitly to the program list had no effect.
     
  2. HughJarse

    HughJarse Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    North East
    Car:
    c250
    im having trouble with opendns today - stopping websites thru firefox...coincidence?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Dryce

    Dryce MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Car:
    ..
    Nope.

    This was inability of FF to connect to anything on the local network as well as external whether by name or IP. DNS was fine - even for FF. Everything else managed OK.
     
  4. masqueraid

    masqueraid Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Car:
    E220 CDi & A170CDi
    Norton and FF 3.0.4 really don't get on at the moment - a temporary fix is to remove FF from the NIS exception list completely and then allow Norton to redetect it.

    I share your love for Norton!
     
  5. AMGeed

    AMGeed MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,670
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bournemouth/Poole Dorset
    Car:
    2004 W211 E55K ///AMG
    Had exactly the same problem earlier this week. Turned out as well as the Windows Firewall, an old copy of NIS2006 had reactivated itself and the firewall was operating. Had a hell of a job getting rid of Norton but this tool does it.
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Uninstallers/Norton-Removal-Tool.shtml

    Once removed, both Firefox and IE opened straight away.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Dryce

    Dryce MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Car:
    ..
  7. OP
    OP
    Dryce

    Dryce MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Car:
    ..
    Funnily enough that didn't work either.

    After removing FF from the list there was no popup to ask what to do about it.

    (And just to make sure we rebooted the system as well).

    That's one of the reasons we decided to uninstal Norton.
     
  8. whizzkid11

    whizzkid11 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    776
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Over Here!
    Car:
    .
    Norton Internet security package after 2005 is a total nightmare to configure and maintain.

    Uninstalling Norton still levaes lots of rubbish, and you nee dto run the Symantec/Norton utils to remove fully....

    By the way - its being replaced by Symantec EndPoint.... SEPS.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.