Not so Magic Carpet ride W124

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

300DT

Car
W124 300DT
My first post!
Hi everyone, I am the proud owner of my first W124 estate having searched for a good one for almost 2 years. Now of course a 'good one' according to my criteria doesn't guarantee that I have actually found a good one as I'm not a professional spanner man and I don't have any experience with the W124.

However it's a two owner car that has just cracked 100k with every mot and and a very very good history file. Everything seams to work as it should and the body and interior are very clean including the original front wings.

The reason for my post is that it doesn't ride as I expected it to as the ride seems to be extremely sensitive to the road surface. At speed on the motorway it feels composed and reasonably quite but on poor A roads and B roads it feels jittery and certain Tarmac sends a booming hum through the interior?

The SLS appears to work ok the ride height looks spot on and there are no bumps, bangs and creaks from the front.

Could it be the spheres have hardened or something that is supposed to articulate smoothly is seized ??

There are no advisories on the recent MOT?

Any help from you guys would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Any tips for checking the spheres? Are they soft enough to feel the difference between hard and soft? They do compress and pressure up to adjust the ride height.

Olly puts a pen in and if hard they're gone. However, if you have no experience of the feel, I'd replace them anyway, they are not greatly expensive and the symptoms you describe are exactly those of spheres.

Thank you.
Are there any other suspension / steering components to check or replace out of good order at 100k? I might make a weekend of it and try and tick off more than one.