OBD Dongles - Secure?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bellow

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Car
C2500 350, 450
As per the title, dongles that plug into the car's OBD port that employ either WiFi or Bluetooth to communicate to a tablet or smartphone.

I'm considering one to run the Torque app, but I cannot get my head around the notion that I will be driving around in a car whose ECU is connectable by signals over which I have no knowledge or control, allied to the recent thefts of cars using their OBD port for access.

Surely in the latter case enabling external access worsens the security - or would the ignition have to be switched on?
In the former case, what if a stray signal caused the engine to quit (or accelerate), or the gearchanging (AMT) to go haywire? In traffic or overtaking this could be fatal. What risk of a stray signal from aviation, or worse military? (low flying fighters around these parts is commonplace). And what would the insurance position be on either case (I've yet to hear of anyone 'declaring' a dongle).
Any ideas?

As per the title, dongles that plug into the car's OBD port that employ either WiFi or Bluetooth to communicate to a tablet or smartphone.

I'm considering one to run the Torque app, but I cannot get my head around the notion that I will be driving around in a car whose ECU is connectable by signals over which I have no knowledge or control, allied to the recent thefts of cars using their OBD port for access.

Surely in the latter case enabling external access worsens the security - or would the ignition have to be switched on?