Older Series II type Daimler / Jaguar as a proposition?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

John

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
Skateboard
I've always quite fancied and older Series I, II or III Jaguar or Daimler as I think they are stunning. One of the finest and most instantly recognisable shapes (for those of a certain age or older of course).

I have a nosey now and again and occasionally something I find absolutely stunning will be for sale for not huge money - like this:

1973 Daimler Double Six V12 | eBay

What are these like as a proposition (reliability, looking after etc. and of course costs besides the obvious servicing, insurance, car tax and MOT)?

Is the V12 a shocker and are there better engines / ages to go for?

I have no experience of them and in fact any cars older than 1985 so looking for any wisdom really.

IMO That is a magnificent car !!! When it first came out one of the UK motoring magazines summarised their review by saying "the only difference between cruising at 100 and 120 mph is a slight increase in hum, from the engine compartment". How understated is that ????

Absolutely beautiful example of one of the prettiest Jaguars - only slight downside as far as I'm concerned is the fuel consumption - 10-12 mpg !!!

What are these like as a proposition
Remember that these cars - beautiful as the styling is - were built very much down to a price, and build quality was very variable (often very bad). As such they are likely to be a serious money-pit unless someone else has already sunk lots of time, effort and money into a car and then baled out in desperation. Having said that, a nice one is sublime to drive, albeit more cramped for interior space than the external dimensions would suggest.

The one in your link looked OK until I got to the interior photos. Oh dear.

I've had a Series I, II and III when they were cheap and they are lovely cars to drive with fantastic interior ambience.