Opinions on a non amg mod

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Charlie2020

Car
E220d bluetech cabriolet
Hi forum,

I have made and will continue to make various personalisations to my a207.

I’m generally trying to avoid anything ‘amg’ as MB didn’t even release one in the 14-17 facelift cabriolet and it was the only one I wanted. So nothing to replicate if I was that way inclined.

So I’m in two minds about ‘ze flag’ I added yesterday. I welcome opinions and honest feedback. I’m a total newb in the Mercedes world and as far as I know this could be a known ‘tackiness’ amongst owners.

43A23FF6-C1EE-4CD6-9CCD-3135574CBB6C.jpeg
(It’s actually quite relevant to other plans eg. callipers were going to be painted blue but not if it stays)

thanks
Charlie

Two schools of thought on this. Some might say its superfluous as its self evident that a Mercedes is "German". ;) However in days gone-by country identifiers were more to do with the nationality of the owner rather than the car itself so people might think its being used as such. :dk: Its your car and your personalisation . What I do like is the level of detail. Its small and unobtrusive and not "in your face" so if you like it fine.:cool:

Yep I agree with both points. Whilst there be nothing wrong with people thinking the driver is German...it’s not the plan. It remains on there today because I guess I like it. I mentioned the idea to a work colleague and he said I should get one of those plastic eye lashes that go above the headlights, turn it upside down and pop it in the middle like a mustash, did make me chuckle!

Italian manufacturers often incorporate the 'tricoloure' into the trim design.

The the new Mini has the Union Jack incorporated into the rear light cluster (in spite of the brand owner being German).

That was exactly what motivated me to put it on - a subtle ‘homage’