Opps

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Teddoc

Car
c class 220d AGM line
Hi everyone I have been driving a c200 d for many years good cars and very comfortable.
just sold my 2013 c200 d and 2 days ago bought a C220d AGM line with 38000 miles on the clock.
Now I have been driving it for a couple of days I am wondering if I have done the right thing?
It's so much noisier and when you hit a pothole you can really feel it. My thoughts are to sell and buy a 2018 C220 SE Executive edition for a smoother ride thanks. Ted

They will be if he keeps running over potholes!

You have bought a non AMG car with hard AMG 'type' suspension (probably has unnecessarily big wheels and low profile tyres on as well) , that it really does not need . It will not get any softer, sell it and buys something you are more comfortable in . 👍

Teddoc, My wife hates my car for exactly the same reasons as you, whereas, I love it. Unfortunately, as Pete says, the only simple option is a swap.

Would smaller wheels and non run flat tyres not help the issue for the OP’er?
Or even checking/dropping tyre pressures a tad? When i get mine back from servicing they always put in the recommended pressure which is way too much, though gives better economy. Bit more risky with really low profile tyres though. I have found even dropping a few psi does make a noticeable difference.

Thanks, everyone decided to give it a few weeks, I now appreciate the safety plus points of the tyres,
and found the volume button for the radio that should help! Cheers Ted

AMG Line = lowered and stiffened suspension.

Large wheels = low profile and a harsh ride.

Runflats (if fitted) = even harsher ride.... :(

The Executive SE will have a more comfortable ride (as long as it comes with small wheels - ideally 16"), but you'll lose some of the trim niceties of the AMG Line (inside and outside).

Thanks, everyone decided to give it a few weeks, I now appreciate the safety plus points of the tyres,