Organising a soap box event

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 11979

At a party last night I got chatting to the manager of our local National Trust property.

Apparently they are struggling with money (no surprise there) and are very open to events that will draw more people to the property, in terms of one off events and permanent "attractions"

They have a very long drive which is on a hill, lovely smooth tarmac surface with grass verges on either side.

I thought about organising a soap box race and as I've never done anything remotely like this before was wondering if anyone had ideas / suggestions / things to be considered.

My initial thought is that insurance requirements would kill it, anyone got experience of this, or knows where to go to get insurance?

The layout of the property is ideal for this kind of caper with a fairly gentle long hill with a paddock area at both the top and the bottom, along with another vehicular access that would allow the main drive to be closed.

I look forward to your comments.

It's obviously for charity mate.

Last edited by a moderator:
These type of events are great fun. My dads firm was involved in one a while back. Most of the entrants were from an engineering background so you can imagine the standard of some of the carts. Loads of guys with beards who are probably very good at pub quizzes :D

Can't offer any help re insurance.

On the Insurance side, why not contact someone else who has run a similar event and ask them.

I suppose the insurance side will have to be dealt with by the NT as it's their property. As regards the contestants surely a signed waiver will do, what happens on track days and parachute jumps?

NT properties can be good venues for car club rallies and I would think any insurer would accept the cover for a soap box event as long as there is adequate supervision in place.

They won't be insuring the competitors, just the general public.