Outside temp display 2005 w203

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Essexstu, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. Essexstu

    Essexstu New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Essex!
    Car:
    C55 AMG
    Guys

    I have a 05 C class and the lower display shows the time and speed in kph. I want it to display out temp but cant see how to do this through the menus. The handbook explains how to change the display of the outside temp from F to degrees C but then on page 128 selecting the display from speed to outside time there is a note to say 1 Except in the United Kingdom.

    This is nuts? The car allows me to choose between degrees F and C but I have no way of actually displaying what the outside temp is? Surely this cant be correct?

    Any ideas? Is there no way I can display outside temp?
     
  2. whitenemesis

    whitenemesis MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,588
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Car:
    Lexus RC300h F-Sport 2016
    MB have taken the stance that UK spec'd cars must always display kph.

    The only way round it is to have the car coded for ROW (I think that's correct...). Unlikely that a dealer will do this for you so find a knowledgeable indie who can use STAR to do this.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Essexstu

    Essexstu New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Essex!
    Car:
    C55 AMG
    Thanks White, crazy situation. Knowing the outside temp is surely more useful to the driver than speed in kmh? Very odd. Is there any way I can see outside temp on the centre screen anywhere? If not then why even fit a temp sensor to UK cars? Or dont they?

    And I always thought the germans were so logical lol
     
  4. grumpyoldgit

    grumpyoldgit Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,604
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Car:
    C270CDI Avantgarde SE
    ^ +1

    The only way is to have it done on Star. UK Delete.

    To comply with UK law, the speed needs to be capable of being displayed in both mph and kph, but as Mercedes analogue speedometers only have mph markings on the dial the digital display shows the speed in kph.

    As whitenemesis says, a main dealer won't do this for you and only a few Independents know how to do it.
     
  5. grumpyoldgit

    grumpyoldgit Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,604
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Car:
    C270CDI Avantgarde SE
    Scroll through the menus using the buttons on the wheel. Can't remember which menu it's in, but it will tell you in the handbook.
     
  6. wongl

    wongl Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    739
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Car:
    A180CDI x3, C300h
  7. Rory

    Rory MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Car:
    C270CDi Estate (2004 facelift model)
    Not in the car now and it's one of those things you do without thinking but it's someting likes:
    Use the page buttons on the steering wheel until you get to the one that shows total mileage, then use the arrow buttons to scroll to get to the temp display.
     
  8. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,253
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    W169 A class (loaded)
    Yes but it needs coding. Pop over and see us and we can change it for you along with a few other things that we can enable.

    Have a look here and you can see my C55 which we did it to;
    Coding / STAR
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.