Parameter Steering

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MikeL

Car
Audi A4 3.0 TDI
(Hope this is the correct forum)

Hi gang,

Has anybody had any first hand experience of driving similar models with & without parameter steering, if so what do you think, how did it affect the driving experience?

Also better on a large car rather than small?

Thanks

Mike
icon7.gif

Last edited:
Sorry I have no experience about parametric steering but you do need img tags around that icon link ;)

icon7.gif

Try the following instead...
[img]http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/images/icons/icon7.gif[/img]

oops.gif
Sorry for going
offtopic.gif

S

MikeL said:
(Hope this is the correct forum)

Hi gang,

Has anybody had any first hand experience of driving similar models with & without parameter steering, if so what do you think, how did it affect the driving experience?

Also better on a large car rather than small?

Thanks

Mike
icon7.gif

Hello MikeL.

If you have seen some of my earlier 'steering' posts?. I dont have it on my present C Class coupe and honestly I find it a bit of a pain in the very low speed ranges (very heavy up to about 10/15 MPH) and I also find that the steering does'nt self centre either, again if you are doing less that 15ish MPH.

This all makes three pointing and reverse parking a right chore :( . A friend of mine has a C Class, albeit the saloon W203. He has parameter on his and believe me it is a revaletion in the low speed ranges compared to mine, it will steer with just one finger if you want it to. So, to answer your question, in my opinion there is a massive, and beneficial, difference and for the sake of £200 it is well worth the extra. Like other power steering set ups, it does go away as speed increases therefore there is no detriment to what you might call normal driving.