parking fees in oxford up again

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ckember

Car
GLC 350d AMG Premium plus
Public parking has gone up by £0.50 to £5.00 for 3 hours in the center of town. This is according to the council is required due to increased costs. The £0.50 rise is likely to occur every year for the next few years.

Their justification is that if they don't do this now they will cut other services. what Cr*p they just want to stop the car as always.

As a service engineer I need to park close to the uni, this now cannot happen as all the spaces near the uni are metered and only last a few hours.

Central London meters are £1 for ten minutes. Consider yourselves lucky.
And thats AFTER youve paid at least £8 just to get there..............

I have that problem too as i have customers all over the country. At least the traffic inside the congestion zone is fairly clear. I pay nearly £30 to park outside the congestion zone so that I have my equipment near by. I cannot use public transport 90% of the time.

The last time I drove into Central Oxford must have been at least 15 years ago - and even then it was blatantly obvious that Oxford was anti-car.
It had the first park and ride schemes which I ever encountered.

Car parks here are 80pence for 2 Hrs.

Even worse we have some great 'driving' roads with fantastic sceenary!

:eek: :D

I pay 50p for an hours parking.:bannana: :bannana: :D and no congestion charge or wheel clamps either.

Car parks here are 80pence for 2 Hrs.

Even worse we have some great 'driving' roads with fantastic sceenary!

:eek: :D

Ah yes......glorious part of the UK along with the Dales National Park in North Yorkshire. Gods best work..........

I have that problem too as i have customers all over the country. At least the traffic inside the congestion zone is fairly clear. I pay nearly £30 to park outside the congestion zone so that I have my equipment near by. I cannot use public transport 90% of the time.