Parking sensor- where does the wiring originate? Circuit?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

elite_504

Car
W205 C200 SE EE estate
Hi folks,
I'm still very new to the fold.
My new-to-me C32 Estate is fitted with parking sensors F+R, but it doesn't function. I understand if there is a fault with it that it show red bars. Mine shows nothing at all and is dead as a doornail. I suspect it is either disconnected, or a fuse has gone, but even consulting the wiring diagrams, I can't see where it's plugged in. Any suggestions from anyone? Any good hints to start fault finding?
All info appreciated. :thumb:

It gets its power from the Rear SAM (which is part of the rear fusebox on the left in the boot)

Fusemap is probably in with the fusebox at the end of the dashboard (under the cover which is obscured when the door is shut)

But looking at SAM wiring diagram, it looks like it goes to F13 which is a 5A fuse, which is fed by relay F

Fuse 1 and relay A are at the bottom of the fusebox , so yours are near the top

The plug plugs in the back of the fusebox, they are all keyed (its plug 12) so cant go in the wrong hole if its fallen out

Richard

Woo hoo, you are the man!5a fuse 13 replaced and indeed the system came to life. The fuse was missing. The system was showing something consistently in front of the front right of the car. I guess this drove the previous driver nuts, or he just wanted to cover the system fault when I bought the car by pulling the fuse. Looking at the sensors, they had been painted over and the pain was cracking. Paint carefully scraped off with a sharp scraper, and the system is all 100% now and working as it should!!

Thanks so much for the info.

I also checked the Mrec fusebox diagram from the instrument panel as reccomended, and I guess mine is an early build standard, so it didn't list the parking sensors on the diagram at all.