pc not booting

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by pepe, Apr 15, 2005.

  1. pepe

    pepe Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    bristol
    Car:
    c250 td 1998
    just finished building new celeron based pc and cant get it to boot. my previous amd system did the same at the end and as i wanted to build a new one anyway just thought i would . apart from hard drive and dvd writer and memory everything is new ( motherboard,processor etc) the memory is the only part of the old system being used in this new one and as its doing the same as my old one am i right to suspect this. the tower switches on and the fan starts spinning but thats it , the screen remains as if on standby, could this be caused by faulty memory or should i at least see something on screen even if memory is faulty ?
    thanks in advance
     
  2. anarchy-inc

    anarchy-inc Active Member

    Messages:
    830
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Schuylkill Haven, PA, USA
    Car:
    C240
    Double check the manual for the motherboard and make sure all the pins are in the right place. I've built a few where the same thing happened and found that it was defaulting to some weird setting that was not supported by either the memory or the processor.

    Also try removing one of the memory sticks (if you have 2) and try again with one and then the other. Sometimes a blown memory can cause a boot failure but rarely. Double check that the memory you have put on this new motherboard is supported.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    pepe

    pepe Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    bristol
    Car:
    c250 td 1998
    cheers for that , will do
     
  4. Thmsshaun

    Thmsshaun MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,630
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Car:
    2009 C300 4Matic, 2012 Kia Sportage, 2015 Triumph Tiger800 XCX
    Dont you normally get about 4 beeps if there is a memory fault. I know you can tell straight away for sure when you turn them on.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    pepe

    pepe Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    bristol
    Car:
    c250 td 1998
    all jumpers seem fine and have tried reseating memory, if i take memory out should i at least still see something on screen ? it tower switches on and processor fan spins but dont get any beeps and screen remains in standby mode.
     
  6. frog1520

    frog1520 Active Member

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Check the power supply connectors are seated properly. Check the wires for the case's switches are correctly connected to your motherboard. i.e. make sure you havent got reset & power crossed or anything else funny. Try firing it up using your old power supply perhaps, to rule the PSU out. (Just because the fans come on doesnt mean its perfect).

    Do you have anything else on the motherboard - any PCI cards etc? Take everything out you can. Try taking out and reseating your CPU, just to be sure thats OK.

    The favourite is still memory. The beep codes might be an indication on some motherboards that there is a fault, but not all - some will just sit there which is exactly what you're seeing.. Just because the memory fits in the slot doesnt mean its the right memory. Might be worth asking the supplier of your board to supply you with 256Mb of memory to check it with.

    What motherboard / CPU combination are you using?

    Good luck!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    pepe

    pepe Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    bristol
    Car:
    c250 td 1998
    have tried swapping power supplies and the problem still remained, as i said before i had this problem on my previous pc which i was planning to dump anyway and the memory is the only part of the old system that ive got in the new system, whilst trying to remove fan from old system my screwdriver slipped and whacked memory which i why i think its that, ive ordered some new memory (crucial) so will give that a go. the motherboard is a brand new asus with new celeron 2.4 cpu.
     
  8. Thmsshaun

    Thmsshaun MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,630
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Car:
    2009 C300 4Matic, 2012 Kia Sportage, 2015 Triumph Tiger800 XCX
    Think you have answered your own question there :)
     
  9. DLWoodie

    DLWoodie New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Location:
    Exeter
    Car:
    1990 230E Smoke sivler phat rims
    If it was an exclusive ram fault you would see/hear error messages/beeps. Fan activity without anything else is most likey a poor conection to the cpu (more common on slotted types or chip, but bent or non seated pins pins on sockets is not unheard of) or the 12v 4pin power is not connected.

    Ram is more resiliant than the textbooks would have you believe, unless you phyically damaged it it maywell be okay) if it is physically damaged this may have shorted your mobo. Speaking of Mobo this or the CPU are the most likely causes of your issue.

    My advice would be to contact the supplier of the Mobo tell them it has no POST, ideal if you got the CPU from the same supplier.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2005
  10. OP
    OP
    pepe

    pepe Active Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    bristol
    Car:
    c250 td 1998
    It was indeed the ram, installed new ram and now fine, I was not getting any beeps or even the bios screen, but now everything is fine.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.