Penalty Charge Notice Road Traffic Act 1991 (as ammended)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinal

MB Enthusiast
Car
x254, G350, Duster, S320, Mach1, 900ss and a few more
I'm guessing from the title, you guessed what this thread is about.

What you probably don't expect is that it has NOTHING to do with my car... Actually, nothing to do with ANY car!

Let me start at the beginning... once upon a time, in a faraway land, there was a parking attendent with a parking meter shov...

I'll start again, shall I? This morning considering the lovely weather, I decide to ride to uni on my bike and laugh at a few of the motorists on the way. After a pretty perilous journey (I'm a noob at riding a bike, and I have realised riding at peak hour in central london isn't a task for the weak hearted) I get too college. I try getting into the bike park but am denied access on campus as I don't have a safety badge displayed on the bike. Fair enough.... I find a bike park outside the college, but alas, it was full, so I park the bike as close to the bike park just outside the college thinking that all was fine. Little attention did I pay to the pay&display parking spots just nearby.

I finish at uni, all proud and go out to my bike, only to find a parking ticket CELLO TAPED (actually, yellow insulating tape) to my seat. At first I think its just a practical joke by one of my friends (or maybe I hoped that, not sure); but when I read it and the VRN is mine my heart sinks.

So after such a great tale, let me ask you; cal I contest this? I mean SERIOSLY! It says "code 06p PARKED WITHOUT CLEARLY DISPLAYING VALID TKT (p&d)" leaving aside the fact that ITS A BIKE, NOT A CAR.... WHERE oh WHERE would I put the ticket? I don't even have a windscreen, so under that wouldn't work... I'm really really amazed... (and apparently, I wasn't the only one to get a ticket)