Phone scam?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

amwebby

MB Enthusiast
Car
CL500
Not sure how they've done this but it is definitely a scam.

In October I returned to my phone to find a missed called from a number I did'n't recognise. It came from abroad so I looked up the country code, 232, to find it originated from Sierra Leone. Figuring it to be a scam I didn't reply to the call and deleted it from my call log but made a note of the number.

This month my bill arrived and there was an item claiming I had called this number for exactly two minutes, costing me £2.72. I phoned O2, who were great and credited the amount, even though it showed to them as me calling the number.

I'm now studying my phone to see how I can block calls from this number and trying to figure out how the hell they did it. Any telco experts out there who might have an idea?

Last edited:
fonejacker.jpg

"Helllllo Sir, Congratulations you have won $7600000 Ugandan dollars"

I fail to see how they can charge you for a call you never picked up, and there's nothing I'm aware of that the scammers could have used in this situation to cause that charge without some sort of action from yourself.

If you had been roaming that would have been a different matter, but on your home network no incoming call should levy a charge.

Something sounds not quite right with O2's charging scheme there.

I agree - I would want to know from O2 how comes there is a charge...

As I said, O2 see it as an outgoing call initiated by me. My phone's calls list show this is not the case and they were very quick to refund the charge. I suspect the scam is on the O2 network rather than me.

Here's someone else who's had exactly the same thing from the same number.

http://www.ecademy.com/node.php?id=114981

Forgot to mention the text prior to the phone call. In fact forgot the text as I also deleted that. Maybe that is somehow part of the scam?

Last edited: