Playing iPad though Bose stereo in s class

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Deane x, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    Hi I want to play the music off my iPad thought my Bose stereo in my s class , I have seen on YouTube a man with a cassette tape with a iPhone adapter on it and it seems to work well , any ideas what I would need or if there is a better way , any help is much appreciated
     
  2. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Surely your s class has comand fitted ? :confused:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    Yes of course , why is that Howard ?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
  5. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Does your comand have a tape player ?

    I only ask because mine doesn't ? :confused: it's cd only
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    Yes Howard same as the one on the link m8 with cd changer in boot
     
  7. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Sorry , I'm being thick I think , but where is the tape deck on that ?

    I think he has an iPod lead going into an Aux port or something.

    Alfie at comand.co.uk is the person to talk to about this. He will know how it is done and the most cost effective way to do it.
     
  8. m2287

    m2287 MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    cambridge
    Car:
    Bentley Continental GT

    The tape deck is behind the "radio, cd" etc. buttons. You press the button with the arrow and they all move down revealing the tape deck.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Ah ! :thumb:

    Didn't know that :)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    He uses a tape thing with a headphone socket then a adaptor from that to a iPad connector any one know what's its called or Where to get one from ?
     
  11. Giantvanman

    Giantvanman MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,826
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    FFRR 4.4 TDV8 Autobiography
    1 person likes this.
  12. W4E300

    W4E300 Active Member

    Messages:
    416
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    CLK 350 Sport
    I think I way have one in the 'Man Drawer'....don't buy one until I've ventured in to the darker corners and you can have it.......

    Sent from my iPad using MBClub UK
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
  14. Giantvanman

    Giantvanman MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,826
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    FFRR 4.4 TDV8 Autobiography
    Something like a Griffin Smartdeck then. You may have to send off to the US for that!
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    It looks like he just has a wire with female headphone jack on one end and iPad connector on other tho ..I could be wrong as this stuff goes right over my head :confused:
     
  16. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
  17. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    They look good , good find , don't know if first one will work as I have cd changer and tv tuner but as I said before this stuff goes right over my head , I wonder if any one on here has used any of them I can't be the only person wanting to play music from there phone or iPad
     
  18. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Just to feed back on this a little.

    I bought one of these to see what they were like , and I can confirm it's pretty good. You need to find a frequency that isn't near any other station as you can get some bleed through , but it works fine.

    You can hear a bit of fuzz when there is silence on a tune , or a very quiet section , but it's liveable with. When you are listening to anything at any volume you don't notice it at all. All for under a fiver.

    3.5mm FM Transmitter In Car Hands Free Wireless For All Mobile Phones MP3 HTC | eBay
     
    1 person likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    Deane x

    Deane x Active Member

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Location:
    Dovercourt , harwich
    Car:
    C350e S205 2016
    ar m8 that was weird I was just saying to my wife I have not had any thing back on the iPad thread and looked round and you had posted .....you watching me or some thing lol any way thanks I have ordered one .is the link the one you bought as I just boughts that one
     
  20. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Yes , that's the exact same one I bought.

    Some of the others only have five or so frequencies programmed in , so if none of them work , you're stuffed. That one you can search by .1 increments.

    Best frequencies with no bleed in my area appear to be 87.6 and 90.6 , everything else seems too near to a station and you get bits of both.

    Figuring out how to get the comand to search actual frequencies rather than stations was a bit of a faff as I've lost the comand manual lol
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.