Possible to replace SRS module with a used one

axelvic

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
35
Location
Höganäs, Sweden
Car
'06 C 220 CDI, '07 E 280 T CDI
Hi all!

I'm new to this forum, and this question may already have been answered elsewhere, I've not been able to find the answer though.

I've got an '01 E 320 CDI estate with an SRS-lamp that stays on. My local MB workshop read the codes and according to them it was the SRS module that was to blame.

I found a used module (with exactly the same part number) from Holland, replaced it and the light is still on. Now it flickers after the initial test phase though.

Naturally I thought it needed to be coded into the system, but my nearest MB workshop says I need a brand new module (£450) and them to replace the old one with it and code it (£300), which I obviously think is a bit expensive for such an old car.

I talked to another MB workshop a couple of hours drive away, and they said it might be possible to use the used one instead, they'd give it a go at least.

Does anyone know which is correct?

Thanks,
Axel,
Höganäs, Sweden
 

MichealChalhoub

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
2
Car
CLK 550
A used control unit is possible to be coded by a Star diagnostic multipixer and Das software ,you need some Mercedes specialist or some one who owns star to do it ( star with developer mod)) .. Dealer at benz probably dont code used control units or chips that have been replaced if ,, unless you have some one inside , it will take you less effort and much cheaper to do it outside .
 
OP
OP
A

axelvic

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
35
Location
Höganäs, Sweden
Car
'06 C 220 CDI, '07 E 280 T CDI
I've been to the authorized MB dealer today. Unfortunately the 'new' SRS module came from a car which didn't have airbags in the rear doors. The mechanic was able to code in the rear seat belt reastraints, but not the rear airbags, I saw for myself that the diagnostics system said it was impossible due to the module not being new.

On the way home I thought that maybe I could try disconnecting the rear door airbags and see if it stops complaing?
 

E270 Owner

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,671
Location
S E London
Car
Anything I get my hands on.
I've been to the authorized MB dealer today. Unfortunately the 'new' SRS module came from a car which didn't have airbags in the rear doors. The mechanic was able to code in the rear seat belt reastraints, but not the rear airbags, I saw for myself that the diagnostics system said it was impossible due to the module not being new.

On the way home I thought that maybe I could try disconnecting the rear door airbags and see if it stops complaing?

In developer mode:


Adapting the SRS control unit to a new car (different configuration, different VIN).

"First of all erase all present error codes in the unit if possible. If there are current faults the airbag module might not get properly reinitialized.

Then proceed to the menu control unit adaptations -> special functions -> Control Unit is released.

From this point do not turn the ignition off or reset the control module. Proceed to the menu option “initial startup” where the current configuration will be reinitialized and new VIN can be written to the control unit.

Please pay attention to the specified configuration (ie. Does the car have rear side airbags?) otherwise you will end up with a controller that does not recognize airbags installed in the vehicle.

After completing the initial startup, reset the control module (cycle ignition) and erase all fault codes resulting from the startup process"









.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
A

axelvic

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
35
Location
Höganäs, Sweden
Car
'06 C 220 CDI, '07 E 280 T CDI
By the way E270 Owner, have you tried and succeeded with this operation yourself?
 
OP
OP
A

axelvic

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
35
Location
Höganäs, Sweden
Car
'06 C 220 CDI, '07 E 280 T CDI
Yes, I'm trying to. I'm looking for someone on a Swedish forum... No luck yet though!
 
OP
OP
A

axelvic

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
35
Location
Höganäs, Sweden
Car
'06 C 220 CDI, '07 E 280 T CDI
I found a local workshop with an MB Star system in developer mode, they managed to retrieve data from the old unit and load it into the 'new' used one, thus making it work.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom