Pressure washing - daft questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rich764089

MB Enthusiast
Car
E63 AMG S212 5.5, W221 S500, W220 S600, GBS Zero, Defender Wolf 110, Audi A6 BiTdi, Octavia vRS
Hi all,

Total newbie to the world of detailing, but I've decided that I should start taking better care of my newest car! So, I bought a cheap pressure washer and lots of other goodies. Having now used snow-foam (Autoglym Polar Ice) a couple of times, I'm a little underwhelmed by this pre-wash stage - it doesn't seem to remove all that much dirt! Am I expecting too much, or am I doing something wrong?!

I can remove much more dirt if I hold the pressure-washer nozzle very close to the car, but can I cause damage doing this? How close is too close on full power?! It's a Karcher K2, so max. pressure is 110bar/1,600PSI.

Sorry for the daft questions, as you can see, I know nothing!

Rich

Not a daft question, we all start somewhere! Yes you can cause damage, especially if there is a stone chip or any broken paint.

Hi all,

Total newbie to the world of detailing, but I've decided that I should start taking better care of my newest car! So, I bought a cheap pressure washer and lots of other goodies. Having now used snow-foam (Autoglym Polar Ice) a couple of times, I'm a little underwhelmed by this pre-wash stage - it doesn't seem to remove all that much dirt! Am I expecting too much, or am I doing something wrong?!

I can remove much more dirt if I hold the pressure-washer nozzle very close to the car, but can I cause damage doing this? How close is too close on full power?! It's a Karcher K2, so max. pressure is 110bar/1,600PSI.

Sorry for the daft questions, as you can see, I know nothing!

Rich