Professional Status for Engineers Petition

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinal

MB Enthusiast
Car
x254, G350, Duster, S320, Mach1, 900ss and a few more
The petition to recognise Engineers are professional/skilled workers has now closed,
( http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/Engineer-Status/ )

Some petitions are responded to even before they close - this one seems to have been left unanswered so far. Why do I have a sneaky suspicion that either it will remain un-answered or it will have a stock "there is a chartered engineer status out theer" answer?

Michele

The alternative is to call youself a Consultant to distinguish yourself from the plumbers and mechanics.

I find it really irritating, usually at work, to arrive at the coffee machine, or some other appliance – to find it broken, with a note appended….
“Coffee machine broken, engineer called”.
Whenever I see this I cross out the word “engineer” and write in “technician”.
I am an Professional Engineer (with a capital “E”) and resent the public perception that the man who fills the coffee machine or changes the pump on a washing machine is an engineer.
Trying, in vain, to persuade my kids to take Engineering an university, I found out the true perception from them and their peers…..
“Why would I want to be an Engineer?...Isn't he the man who fixes the photocopier…”
If I was a nurse, I wouldn't be allowed to call myself a doctor.
I legally couldn't call myself an Architect, even if I drew house plans.
(No offence to photocopier or coffee machine technicians everywhere….)

Last edited:
Anybody can call themselves and "Accountant" but not "Chartered Accountant" etc

Same for Engineers: