PSI

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MrLCA

Car
2011 C250 CDI
Afternoon all,

Obviously I don't know better than Mercedes but following the PSI guidance under the fuel filler cap leaves my tyres looking really flat. The temptation is there to pump them up some more...

I've tried two different pumps to make sure one wasn't under reading.

Screenshot_20210223-172723.jpg

According to this I should be 33psi front and rear. I am reading it correctly aren't I? I have 18" wheels and it's only myself in the car 90% of the time.

Any harm in going up a few psi?

Lawrence.

Over inflating will increase tyre wear slightly. If you pump them up only a couple PSI more you should be fine.

I've been running tyres for 20 years a smidge over 40 psi , tyre wear is minimal and I've yet to experience center over inflation wear .

I find the fuel flap pressures too high on my S212 so I actually run them lower. I’m on 17’s though. Lower profile tyres can look semi-flat sometimes. I’m always checking my wife’s pressures on her Abarth as they always look flat!

Pumped mine recently before I had headlights adjusted, can’t recall but high 30’s

Good point, not sure. I thought it was about best fuel economy?