R 129 300-24 won't run.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Robco

Car
SL R129 300-24v 1991
I'm new to this and I hope somebody is able to help.
I'm now the proud owner of a "well used" SL. - bit of a toy - my wife mentioned second childhood!
It's been running well for several months but now has stopped. - It was running very well before.
Timing light on to plug leads show a spark when turning on starter motor. Opened the 2 fuel lines at the fuel delivery distributor and they have fuel under pressure.
I'm not sure whether the immobiliser alarm works as the remote locking doesn't work - winter projects.
I think it may be an immobiliser issue or possibly a relay.
Are there any common causes of not starting?
If the immobiliser is the problem, is it possible to disable or remove the immobiliser altogether?

Hi a possible way of finding out if it is the immobilizer is to call the AA if you are a member they can check if it has gone wrong and they can disable it,or at least they could about 4 years ago.

The ignition control modules on these are quite common for failure (and hard/expensive to find secondhand now!)

Forum member @ray_hennig has quite a lot of knowledge on the 300-24 engines, hopefully he can offer some insight :thumb:

The ignition control modules on these are quite common for failure (and hard/expensive to find secondhand now!)

Forum member @ray_hennig has quite a lot of knowledge on the 300-24 engines, hopefully he can offer some insight :thumb:
Hello,

If you have a spark, your ignition controller is probably ok. In my experience, they either work or not (no spark).

In your shoes, I'd make sure that your HT system is 100% before doing anything expensive - although top quality leads, cap and rotor are not cheap.

The immobiliser on my 124 is under the passenger foot well area. It was pretty easy to disable. But later cars had a more elaborate system that's more involved to disable.