R129 Impossible roof problem

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MVD

Car
W220 S320cdi, W210 E240, W126 300se
Hi all, newbie here! First post… Hopefully in correct topic

Wondering if anyone could help at all? I've recently purchased a 1993 R129 SL300, it has a few problems, but the two I most want to sort out is the roof and roll bar. I've spent hours and hours on google surfing the forums, but no one seems to have had the same problem as me.

As far as I can see from videos, when lowering the soft top, the rear window needs the lift vertically.

This does not happen; it unlatches from the hatch (at the rear) but nothing else. If I hold the switch to lower the roof, while manually pulling up the rear of the roof vertically (rear window) the rear hatch then opens. But the front of the roof won't unlatch on its own, it just tries to pull down, I need to do this manually, once I do that, the roof will go down on its own and complete its full cycle with both the side windows going up when the roof is down. I can hear the bow extension limit switch click (I think that’s what it’s called?) this should be working because if I wiggle to roof while trying to open, the roof stops and starts with the switch being engaged/ disengaged.

When putting the roof back up, the rear hatch will open, the top will start to come out the hatch but then stops and it almost gets jammed. It will go forward about an inch, then backwards about an inch, all rather quickly as the roof tries. However, if I then pull the rear screen up at the same time, the roof will then close all as normal, front latching and rear latch closing. Long story short, the rear screen is dead. No resistance is felt when moving it, even when the roof is in operation.

After some googling, I thought I'd found the cause – ‘Bow extension cylinders’. I'm now having some doubts as I can't see any obvious leaks, everything looks dry, no puddles or drips of the floor.