R129 Soft top replacement

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rajinder_1

Car
01' Designo SL320 , 96' C36 AMG, 98' C43 AMG Estate 19' Focus & 96' ZX6R Ninja
Hi,

I have been avoiding replacing my soft top for about 2-3 years now and it is in need of replacment.

all the folding points in the glass have small cracks and i have one medium tear in the center window along the seam.

again the folding points on the fabric is very shabby and frayed.

I have called a few places to have it replaced and have had varied prices...

so for complete roof supply and fit:

A local guy softtops ( the guy that Jay used ) was the most expensive at
£1300

european car trimmings (200 mile round trip)
£915

guy in birmingham details for them from above firm (50 mile round trip)
£980

Now wait for it the best quote i had was a fluke found by pure chance upon meeting a friend in town who suggested them again based in coventry!
C.A.T Development consultancy
£550........ Yes £550 supply and fit!!!!!!

these guys are classic car trimmers and undertake most jobs relating to this field.
He had a R107 top which they had stripped and were getting ready to make up and fit....

Now here is the catch.... they would like the frame removed from the car and dropped off to them so they can strip it down make a pattern and prepare a new hood with windows and make it up.

im a bit reluctant to remove the frame as im not sure about how to do it and how to re allign it all back up.

i would be greatful for any suggestions and if anyone knows how difficult it is to take the R129 soft top off with the frame and put it back on again...

I am fairly competent and do not mind getting my hand dirty, but i can see this as being a bit of a pain in the backside for some reason...

i did however relay to the guy that i wasnt too keen on removing the frame and soft top and would they do it, to which he sort of said yes....