R129 Steering wheel cage

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Epo

Car
SL 320
Hello, I am new to the Mercedes life. I have a great SL320, that someone I knew offered to me as her partner had passed away and she couldn't see it sit on her drive going to waste,which it had been doing for 6 years. I reluctantly test drove it. Reluctantly due to the fact that I have a 1988 BMW 635 csi already that I have had for 15 years and I have recently inherited my late brothers 1996 Jaguar XJ6 (which I can't sell as it was my brothers) So when she called me and asked if I wanted to buy her SL I said "I don't have the money and I don't have the space". Low and behold I now have an SL the wife is going mad.
I bought a new wooden steering wheel for it and found that the cage from my original wheel didn't fit as it didn't have the horn tabs on it. I went back to the place I got it from and they gave me a spring loaded-cage with the tabs on to try. The problem is the cage they gave me screwed to the steering wheel using torks, the wooden steering wheel has studs like my original wheel and thus the cage must be bolted to it. I offered in the screwed cage, but it sits approx 10mm off the base of the steering wheel. So now I need to find a sprung loaded cage that bolts into the wooden steering wheel that allows the airbag with no horn tabs on to work correctly, there are obviously two types of spring loaded cage. One that bolts and one that screws. Can anyone help? My wife said she can... she said put the old wheel back on!. However it was my wife who managed to find this forum and said I seek help.
All the best.
Epo.

I'm sure you'll get a sensible reply sometime soon, but I'm a great believer that "a picture paints...". Any chance of uploading a few snaps so we can see exactly what issues you are grappling with? Oh, welcome to the forum...

Thanks for the reply. Yep photos will help. Struggling to upload photos,I will try when I get home