radio

philsy2k

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
143
Location
newcastle
Car
C36 AMG
I have just put MERCEDES BOSE radio in my car and it sounds terrible. Even when turned up full it is really quiet and bad quality, the previous radio was fine, Are the BOSE ones suppost to come with a standard amplifier???:confused:
 

sym

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
4,336
Location
North London
Car
W204 C220CDI Sport
Originally posted by philsy2k
BOSE radio ....... sounds terrible.

Nope - shouldn't sound terrible ! Should sound AMAZING !!

Are the BOSE ones suppost to come with a standard amplifier???:confused:

Well - a Bose amplifier, I would have thought !!
 

fuzzer

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
7,939
Location
Glasgow
Car
F25 X3 20d SE
Originally posted by philsy2k
I have just put MERCEDES BOSE radio in my car and it sounds terrible. Even when turned up full it is really quiet and bad quality, the previous radio was fine, Are the BOSE ones suppost to come with a standard amplifier???:confused:

Its not just the radio . Its the amplifier , DSP and speakers that make up the bose system :S

As far as i was aware , with the exception of the M class, all the MB radios were either becker or alpine and the bose was just the addons.
 
OP
OP
philsy2k

philsy2k

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
143
Location
newcastle
Car
C36 AMG
Im not being fussy saying its quiet i mean it is really quiet like i couldnt here it if i was driving, shouldnt it just sound like a normal radio without the amp? i thought it was broken as the radio came as it is without any connection plug so i assumed that is all it was, I didnt know they had an external amplifier, does that mean i have to order the amp and proper plug for the back of the radio from MERC?
 
Last edited:

Tigger

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
273
Location
London
I'm pretty sure the BOSE system has a separate amplifier which will mean that the output from the radio on its own will sound very weak.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong but I heard somewhere that the impedance for the Bose speakers is different which means that if one pops you have to get a replacement from a stealership.

Tigger
 

Koolvin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
9,944
Location
Staines
Car
W168, W169 & S202
The bose amp is located inside the boot, behind the near side carpet lining...

pic:

left%20cavity.jpg
 
OP
OP
philsy2k

philsy2k

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
143
Location
newcastle
Car
C36 AMG
Thanks

Thanks guys, im looking forward to monday to find out how much this is going to cost:eek: Koolvin could you PM me about my reply to the carbon fibre bits pleeeeese
Cheers
 

Koolvin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
9,944
Location
Staines
Car
W168, W169 & S202
Re: Thanks

Originally posted by philsy2k
Thanks guys, im looking forward to monday to find out how much this is going to cost:eek: Koolvin could you PM me about my reply to the carbon fibre bits pleeeeese
Cheers

I replied to your thread!!!
 
OP
OP
philsy2k

philsy2k

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
143
Location
newcastle
Car
C36 AMG
int

Sorry just read it now, i posted another reply now
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom