Remap deleted - software update - Remap again?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ai6aq

Car
E220 CDI Bluetec
Hi all - newbie here with W212 (facelift) E220 Bluetec - had the vehicle remapped a few months back but then EML came on with NOx sensor needing replacing. Took it to an Indie and they replaced it but said I need to update the software at the same time. Told them about the remap but they said it was going to be deleted and I had no choice (apparently) as the light would come back on if software not updated. Absolutely f&%*ing screwing to say the least

I am now thinking of re-mapping again but don't want to keep wasting my money in case there are any future updates that need to be done - as the saying goes "once bitten, twice shy"

Hi all - newbie here with W212 (facelift) E220 Bluetec - had the vehicle remapped a few months back but then EML came on with NOx sensor needing replacing. Took it to an Indie and they replaced it but said I need to update the software at the same time. Told them about the remap but they said it was going to be deleted and I had no choice (apparently) as the light would come back on if software not updated. Absolutely f&%*ing screwing to say the least

I am now thinking of re-mapping again but don't want to keep wasting my money in case there are any future updates that need to be done - as the saying goes "once bitten, twice shy"
Don't do it then . Simples .....

Reputable remmapers will carry-out a re-map either free, or at a reduced cost.

If it was a standard map, they may be able to ship to you a OBDII dongle containing the updated map (and locked to your car's VIN).

If it was a custom map, they will likely have a copy saved on their computer.

Either way, if you want the remapping back, contact the remapper and see what they say.

Reputable remmapers will carry-out a re-map either free, or at a reduced cost.