replacing rusty wings...cost?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

niceguy2702

hi all, i have a '96 e280 with terrible rust on the front wings. had 1 of these mobile ppl come round and do the nessecary but its all come back. i think the only real solution to this is to replace the wings. does anyone have an idea of what kind of cost this could be and if anyone knows any good places in the n/west (manchester) that could do it? or even better...any other cheaper solutins..im no mechanic or car buff...so not really sure to what extent the rust can be til u cant repair it..many thanks...niceguy

Rust on the front wings is a common problem on W124s and the only real answer is replacement wings as it's come through from the inside.

Price from Stealers £150 each so I was informed last week. Price from German Sweedish £25. Bite the bullet and get OEM, no fettling after and better quality metal ie thicker.

niceguy2702 said:
hi all, i have a '96 e280 with terrible rust on the front wings. had 1 of these mobile ppl come round and do the nessecary but its all come back. i think the only real solution to this is to replace the wings. does anyone have an idea of what kind of cost this could be and if anyone knows any good places in the n/west (manchester) that could do it? or even better...any other cheaper solutins..im no mechanic or car buff...so not really sure to what extent the rust can be til u cant repair it..many thanks...niceguy

I am pleased to see that you have decided to replace the wings.

Filling holes with fibre glass can only ever be a short term remedy. It invaribly returns and you then start the circle of repair all over again.

You can buy genuine Mercede-Benz parts, or the cheaper replica. The geniune part should fit so much easier, require less labour in getting it to fit and perhaps be of a better quality.