Retro fit sat nav/video to command system?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by J4miejenks, Apr 17, 2014.

  1. J4miejenks

    J4miejenks Member

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Car:
    C200
    Hi I'm new to mercs, so please bare with me.

    I have a 2011 w204, it has the command system I.e the joystick and coloured screen in the dash, but I have no sat nav and I've seen other command system with 'videos' to get either is this a software update? Or a change of hardware I.e. New head unit, etc.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. chrisdean

    chrisdean Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Car:
    W205 C200 AMG Line Premium
    Sounds like you've got the basic Audio 20 rather than COMAND, that said there's a module called Becker Autopilot that can be added to Audio 20 systems to add Sat Nav for a few hundred quid.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Giantvanman

    Giantvanman Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,809
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    FFRR 4.4 TDV8 Autobiography
    Have a browse through this website………….. comand.co.uk

    They are forum sponsors; Alfie & Richard do superb work and I would thoroughly recommend them.
     
    2 people like this.
  4. kalvin928

    kalvin928 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    373
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Location:
    Watford.UK
    Car:
    2012 E63 Performance pack
    I have the NTG1 system with the boot sat nav unit in eclass but looking at updating the unit. As having the Harmon Kardon logic 7 amp with fibre optics this can cause issues. However hopefully found a audio specialist who can utilise this and install something like the pioneer appradio 2... going down this week in car so they can see, sounds optimistic as they have already done similar job in another eclass... I am looking at mirroring the iPhone but there are some newer units which allow you to navigate from the head unit via touch operations. iphone is jailbroken so I already have varying TV out/ mirroring apps on there should I need other workarounds but will have better idea when they have gone through my requirements... finding the standard Mercedes branded audio equipment is becoming too limited and then to do various upgrades it just gets too expensive. there are many good, better spec'd unit out there and find these better value... as long as they can be made to work in present set up
     
  5. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,561
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    The HK amplifier you has takes it's signal in on fibre optic and outputs on *loads* of channels (subwoofer, 2 rears on shelf, rear doors, front doors, and centre) (and I can't recall if there are 2 channels for each front door or only 1). So find out what they are going to replace the amplifier with and whether they are going to drive the existing SUB and whether you'll lose the centre speaker.

    Cheers

    Richard
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.