retrofitting Cruise on a W124

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Sp!ke, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    My local MB dealer just giggled when I asked about the required parts to do the job, with no offer of a parts breakdown whatsoever.

    On some Vw's its as simple as replacing the indicator stalk and reprogramming the chip! Does *anyone*know whats involved on 124's?
     
  2. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    cheapest way is - get a aftermarket Cruise control kit and get a MB control stick <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=';)'>
     
  3. V12

    V12 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,610
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Southampton
    Car:
    S320CDI LWB
    You need a completely different ECU for cruise, also2 wiring looms and the stalk, thats about it, and maybe a few vafrious clips... <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    Different ECU huh!  They cant be reprogrammed at all - no?

    ECU's are *EXPENSIVE*.  What do you recon, not much change from £500 for the ECU?

    As for the rest, if its only a bit of cabling and a stalk then that bit [shouldnt] be too bad.
     
  5. V12

    V12 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,610
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Southampton
    Car:
    S320CDI LWB
    The cruise ECU is technically an ECU but is more of a relay, and not that expensive i shouldnt think, main engine ECU's are Flappin expensive but not all of the ecu's are... <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Sp!ke

    Sp!ke Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,234
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Location:
    West London
    Car:
    SL500 & The Fart Car
    So why did my question have the parts guy and a couple of mechanics weeping with laughter at my request I wonder.

    Perhaps it was some kind of defence mechanism due to the fact they didnt know the answer.

    Personally I still cant get my head round how it would work.

    I guess there must be sensors linked to the breaks, and to the the speedo, and some kind of variable resistor linked to the accelerator and a switch which would allow you to dial in the speed steeing you require and to control them all, obviously some kind of preprogrammed black box . Easy if everything is drive by wire I suppose but apparently the 124's arn't (according to the stealership).

    Can anyone provide a more scientific description of whats involved?
     
  7. GrahamC230K

    GrahamC230K MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    9,830
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Car:
    Audi A3 & S4 quattro
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote </td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">So why did my question have the parts guy and a couple of mechanics weeping with laughter at my request I wonder.

    Perhaps it was some kind of defence mechanism due to the fact they didnt know the answer.</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>

    I think you have hit the nail on the head.

    You were probably talking to people who only know how to replace an old part with new as long as they have the manual to them how.

    Your question would involve a greater knowledge and understanding.

    Geez, you don't think you pay £80 per hour at Mercedes to get that do you LOL  <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':p'>   <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':p'>
     
  8. ArtistsRifles

    ArtistsRifles Member

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Dagenham, Essex
    Car:
    1994 E320 Estate + 1990 Saab 900 T16S Convertible
    Apologies for rehashing an old thread but...
    Has any one actually completed this task of retrofitting cruise control to a W124, in particular an E320???
    Our's, obviously, doesn't have it and I think it might be a useful addition to the vehicle, particularly when towing the caravan!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2005
  9. imadoofus

    imadoofus Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,859
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Car:
    This and that.
    I think as Koolvin said originally, an aftermarket solution is prolly the easiest/cheapest.

    The likes of Conrad Anderson and Howard May for example.

    PJ
     
  10. PJH

    PJH Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,254
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Feering,Essex
    Car:
    C180k for Wifey, Focus Ecoboost 6 speed
    Using MB parts you will need a Throttle Actuator WITH cruise control.
    One of these units WITHOUT cruise is £507.82p Don't know how much more the 'WITH cruise' unit costs.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.