Retrofitting Portable Media Center

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by sencem, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. sencem

    sencem Member

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    2005 C220 CDI Sports Coupe Evo Panorama
    Hi all,

    I just wanted to share. Here is my new project....

    I was using my Creative Zen PMC with the aux input only. I was switching it on, selecting a playlist and putting it in to the glow box for the rest of the journey. It's a little bit bulky device:

    [​IMG]

    I know that this device has a video output and my Comand APS has a video input. Why not give it a try?

    First, I bought this remote which will let me control the device without taking it out of the glove box every time; i'm planning to stick it to somewhere i can access easily when driving:

    [​IMG]

    I'm expecting it to look like this when everything's in place:

    [​IMG]


    Please wish me luck; any comments are more than welcome. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  2. Chattonmill

    Chattonmill Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Car:
    S211 E55 AMG
    I have done this with my Archos. I ran an extension of the AV cable from the TV Inputs in the rear which now appear in the glove box. This means that I can watch MP4 Movies on the Comand. does the Zen do movies too?
    Mine works a treat:bannana:
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  3. amwebby

    amwebby Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Thorpe Bay
    Car:
    CL500
    I've done a similar thing with my Alpine DVE 5207 (MP3 and DVD Player), feeding it into one of the two auxiliary sound and video inputs of the TV tuner, which is in the boot. Fortunately the Alpine unit includes a remote controller extension, which runs through from the boot, via the headlining, to a point just above the rearview mirror.

    I can of course play movies on DVD and, by burning my MP3s onto a dual layer DVD, can get 8GB of MP3s (about 120 albums) on board.

    It looks like this:

    Alpine.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  4. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
    i did a similar thing in my CLK with COMAND 2.0

    i didnt have a TV tuner so purchased one of those Video RGB input devices to interface with COMAND. I then fed a 12v DVD player though it and used it to play MP3 cds/dvds on it. Worked a treat.

    Pic here:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sencem

    sencem Member

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    2005 C220 CDI Sports Coupe Evo Panorama
    yes, the Zen can play a couple of video media types, but my main intention is to display the mp3 functionalities on the screen, do not care much about playing videos.

    Cheers
     
  6. Chattonmill

    Chattonmill Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Car:
    S211 E55 AMG
    It will have the same effect at the end of the day, it shows whatever is on the Archos Screen at the time.
    The Aux input in the Glove box does not support Pictures though, so it may be you have to do it through the TV AV inputs.
     
  7. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
    yes thats what i did. Worked well and i had playlist etc, name of track, graphic display etc shown. It needs to be TV on the move enabled though for it to work well, but then of course you open a can of worms re watching tv when driving. I never did and only used it for mp3 tracks so no difference to a fancy stereo IMO
     
  8. Chattonmill

    Chattonmill Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Car:
    S211 E55 AMG

    Ahhh that is one can I will leave firmly shut:eek:
     
  9. OP
    OP
    sencem

    sencem Member

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    2005 C220 CDI Sports Coupe Evo Panorama
    you're right. i missed that point. i have comand aps with a new firmware, so believe i won't be able to enable video in motion :( .

    darn...
     
  10. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL

    i think you can still do it - search ebay and german ebay for it. i believe you need a hardware "box of tricks" to do it though - or a friendly guy with a Star machine
     
  11. proser

    proser Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stafford
    Car:
    W210 E320Cdi Estate
    I have read this thread with interest. I would like to wire in an aux connector for my MP3 player and wondering if some once could point me in the right direction upon what I need.
    The car is a W210 E320CDI 2000MY with Comand
     
  12. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
    There is a how to linked on this thead along with more useful info from when i did this on my W208 CLK (which will be identical to your W210)

    http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=13070&highlight=interference
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2008

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.