Reversing Camera V's Parking Sensors.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hawkwind

Car
CLK 320
Hi there, my W208 convertible doesn't have Parktronic. My previous Saab convertible had parking sensors and with the limited visibility in a convertible I really miss them.

So I want to fit something after market, but can't decide which, sensors or camera?

If anyone has experience of either or both and would like to give me a little advice, or add some useful criticism of either system that would be great.

Also if anyone has fitted an after market system and could guide me through any potential pitfalls :thumb:

Thanks for any help.

Hello Hawkwind,
Your question is a bit of a Marmite. Different strokes for different folks. I now drive for a living and come across reversing cameras regularly. They come in many guises for hgv's. Some are just a clear screen which just shows you what's behind you, others have dots which are supposed to give you an idea of distance to your intended target.
I have front and rear parking sensors on my car and on a personal note I prefer the sensors because you don't have to look at them they soon beep at you when too close.
For me, it's more important to keep my eyes on the task ahead than look at a screen which does need getting used to when you first use one.
Best I can do, hope I have been some help.
Kind regards.

I fitted these
42701d1398442006-w211-reverse-sensor-wiring-help-image-2438768365.jpg

To my A209 - only two but there were four in the box.
I fitted two because I didn't want to take the bumper off and they were easy to get at - just feel up behind the bumper.
They cover all of the rear pretty well.

The dash display looks like this
36710d1369940185-tae-hell-wi-poverty-image-183264069.jpg