Rust bubble - how to clear it

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

uchiha

Car
1992 500E
I took the car into a body shop today to get a quote for some rust bubbling on one of the wings. The work would entail a simple rub down and respray. They told me, however, that the rust would definitely return within a couple of year.

Furthermore, they said that no matter what you do, even if you do a bare metal respray, the rust will always come back and that the only solution is a new wing.

Is this true? Surely not?

The rust is coming through very quickly - there was only a small bubble the size of a five pence piece 6 months ago, and now there are several. I'm concerned that I should take some action before the rust really takes hold.

Is this true? Surely not?

I've had little experience myself, but everything I've heard from friends who do car restoration and bodywork all say exactly the same.

It's depressing but rust is a cancer to cars.

If the rust is appearing very quickly I think the rust has taken root in the steel pretty securely.

If you treat the spot you can see, there will be corroded bits that still remain and will rust again.

Alas, I learned this as a teenager (cough) trying to keep on top of a rusting Austin 1300 :doh:

The only way that will rid your car of the rust is to cut out the panel and replace it.

But SURELY if you rub down to bare metal there is no rust remaining? Perhaps I don't understand. Does something change in the composition of the metal for this to happen?

I think new body panel is the way to go but is £££££

If you give a rust bubble a mighty good rub all you do is clear the corrosion that you can see.

If you rub really really well you will see small dots of corrosion around the spot you started with.