S211 E55K Estate on AT

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
There’s no real downside to the LPG option though. If you can fill up on gas then it’s a bonus, but you just drive exactly as normal on petrol otherwise.
The point about EV chargers is fair. There’s whole filling stations being knocked down and turned into charging stations now (so even petrol/diesel will be one day harder to find!) :)

LPG is basically propane gas, there’s no shortage of it, and there will no doubt always be somewhere to fill up. I think people have been saying stuff about LPG for decades but it’s still out there and approx half the price of petrol 👍
For sure there's money to be made from LPG. I'm just saying that the UK's biggest LPG supplier has announced that it's pulling out of LPG on its 900 sites to replace it with EV's, both in service stations and away from service stations. It's the 5th biggest service station operator in the UK.

That includes service stations operating under the BP, Esso, Jet, Murco, Shell and Texaco franchises. Even Shell stations in Fulham, but not the one you've highlighted.

Major retailer to phase out LPG stations by 2024 – replaced by EV charging points | Hagerty UK

Here's my local MFG outlet operating under the "Shell brand" in Putney: another big EV conversion site:

MFG opens flagship charging station in Putney

Screenshot 2023-05-27 at 08.39.01.png
 
For sure there's money to be made from LPG. I'm just saying that the UK's biggest LPG supplier has announced that it's pulling out of LPG on its 900 sites to replace it with EV's, both in service stations and away from service stations. It's the 5th biggest service station operator in the UK.

That includes service stations operating under the BP, Esso, Jet, Murco, Shell and Texaco franchises. Even Shell stations in Fulham, but not the one you've highlighted.

Major retailer to phase out LPG stations by 2024 – replaced by EV charging points | Hagerty UK

Here's my local MFG outlet operating under the "Shell brand" in Putney: another big EV conversion site:

MFG opens flagship charging station in Putney

View attachment 141405
No doubting LPG (and even conventional fuels like diesel and petrol) are on the decline.

The point I was making is that a dual-fuel vehicle running LPG and petrol is not reliant on LPG filling stations, it can be driven on either.

An EV without a charger is a larger problem!
 
Bernard Looney, the CEO of BP is interesting on this stuff. He sees his retail business as being in the middle of a full transition to retail shopping, digital and EV charging from its current service station platform and has recruited a senior management team from retail and fmcg brands.

I think he made a quote that more than half his revenue already comes from non-petrol / diesel purchases but I might be wrong about that.

It's a nonsense to think of BP as being "Big Oil" any more. Smaller players might be, but not the big boys.
 
Worth a watch 👍 😀

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
 
Worth a watch 👍 😀

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
Thanks for that......I'll take a watch tonight 👍

One of the guys on the Straight Pipes channel in the US bought one a while back as well. Also Max @ AutoTopNL bought his own one too some time back.
 
It's awesome content, I think they raced the Mustang but they edited it out 😉
 
The E55K in Bicester that is up for £11.5k that I offered £10k was allegedly having a viewing today although the seller said Friday it wasn't confirmed. So he counter offered £10750 as long as I didn't knock him down further on viewing the car. A bit odd really as if there is something completely different or misdescribed on the car of course I'd expect their would need to be a renegotiation If it was as expected and described then of course that would be fine.

I tend to make a one time offer that is there for 24 hours and if the seller doesn't accept then it expires. Otherwise it can get messy as they can use your bid to try to push other potential buyers a little. Then come back to you when it doesn't work out and they have tried to get more money but failed. I tend to walk away at that point as don't like making things complex or silly. I also don't like being used as a negotiation tool or people coming back to me when they have tried to sell to others for me then find they can't.

The seller did say he had only had it up for sale for 4 days as was inclined to wait to see what happened over time. I don't always understand that login as either you want to sell it or you don't and must have a bottom line price you would sell it for regardless of timescales. The seller had a pretty much guaranteed easy, hassle free sale at £10k but declined for the sake of £750. They might get a new potential buyer at a bit more than £10k tomorrow, next week or never. The game you play I guess.

Keep it too long and you end up paying more car tax, maybe another MOT or service maybe some more repairs or maintenance. You only need one big thing to go on an E55K and you could be more much than £750 worse off. Then you risk the buyer you had finds something cheaper or better then you lose that potential buyer forever.

In my experience it is much easier to buy something then it is to sell anything in the main. When selling I have always be well researched, fair and realistic to what I feel the car I was selling was worth. I have sold quite a few cars and tend to prepare them, be honest, fair, realistic and sell them pretty quick. There isn't too much point waiting longer or for ages in my experience unless a new buyer comes along that wasn't looking before.
 
Last edited:
Then just like buses!

It's that time of year.

Ideal time to sell - good weather & long evenings brings the private buyers out,

and people want to sell because they've just bought things from the number plate change around.

Not usually buying new, but picking up something 2nd or 3rd down the line.

So June's a good time to shuffle, but things slow down in mid-July, as school holidays loom.
 
May look the same, give or take a few details,

But, as I said earlier, "it's always about condition and service history with a twenty year old car, no matter what it is.
You can't take condition and service history for granted, as you would for a five or ten year old vehicle."

Test drive the two and they'd probably be radically different.
 
May look the same, give or take a few details,

But, as I said earlier, "it's always about condition and service history with a twenty year old car, no matter what it is.
You can't take condition and service history for granted, as you would for a five or ten year old vehicle."

Test drive the two and they'd probably be radically different.
Yup, agreed. Two cars can be very different. The slightly later 54 plate car is a revised car with the mesh centre vent as opposed to the earlier MY slatted one.

Both are similar mileage and checkout OK on a car check with MOT history on either pretty OK.
 
One is Stroud and the other Bicester so might try to work it that I can see both on the same day as Bicester is halfway and on my way to Stroud.
 
One is Stroud and the other Bicester so might try to work it that I can see both on the same day as Bicester is halfway and on my way to Stroud.
Sounds like a grand day out.
 
So the Bicester one was sold on Sunday as the seller just let me know. So makes my decision a little easier on that one. I expect it sold for more than I offered so works well all round I guess.
 
So the Bicester one was sold on Sunday as the seller just let me know. So makes my decision a little easier on that one. I expect it sold for more than I offered so works well all round I guess.
Hmmm steady..."People are advised to avoid the area and use alternative routes while police remain at the scene."
 
Hmmm steady..."People are advised to avoid the area and use alternative routes while police remain at the scene."
Gees, not something you see every day.

Called the seller and had a good chat on the phone. Need to have a think.

Seems honest and decent enough. A few minor issues with paint/body. Mismatched tyres which is always a bit of a worry. There was a fair explanation but still nothing I would do long term and new tyres put on were cheapies.

When you start factoring in alloy refurb and 4 new tyres with a few other bits you end up spending a few quid straight off the bat. Not a high spec car but still could be interested at a fair price.
 

So had a chat on the phone with the seller on this one on Friday late afternoon. Explained I didn't want to waste his or my time if we weren't in the right ballpark numbers wise. We both agreed we were in the right ball park so all good. Was aiming to get across this weekend but my BiL couldn't give me a lift over and trains over the weekend were less frequent so would have been a much longer journey. Agreed on Saturday morning that I'd get across late Monday PM circa 5:30-6pm when the seller was back from work. Deal provisionally done short of the final exact sale price being agreed as it was hard to offer a hard final amount as I hadn't seen or driven the car but we had a figure in mind we were both happy with so good enough to make the fairly long journey.

Booked the afternoon off work and bought my train tickets all ready for tomorrow looking forward to being in an E55K again.

Then I get a text message this afternoon from the seller to say he has sold the car. A little confused I gave him a call and he said he had a call from someone yesterday, they turned up today and bought the car. I asked why and didn't understand as we had a deal with me coming across to buy the car tomorrow. I told him I had booked the afternoon off work, bought my train tickets and why didn't he call me to let me know that he was selling the car to someone else after we agreed a deal already. He said he was sorry and didn't realise I was coming by train. Not sure how else I was going to get circa 4 hours away but kind of irrelevant I guess.

Wasted an hour or so working out how I was going to get there and buy the train tickets. Looks like he has sold the car for £500 more than we had agreed so I guess some people care more about their back pocket and an extra £500 than morals, ethics or ways to treat people.

Has cost me £70 in train tickets I can't cancel or get my money back on as he only let me know less than 24 hours before I was due to travel on the first train. Maybe this one wasn't meant to be.

What is wrong with people these days?!
 

So had a chat on the phone with the seller on this one on Friday late afternoon. Explained I didn't want to waste his or my time if we weren't in the right ballpark numbers wise. We both agreed we were in the right ball park so all good. Was aiming to get across this weekend but my BiL couldn't give me a lift over and trains over the weekend were less frequent so would have been a much longer journey. Agreed on Saturday morning that I'd get across late Monday PM circa 5:30-6pm when the seller was back from work. Deal provisionally done short of the final exact sale price being agreed as it was hard to offer a hard final amount as I hadn't seen or driven the car but we had a figure in mind we were both happy with so good enough to make the fairly long journey.

Booked the afternoon off work and bought my train tickets all ready for tomorrow looking forward to being in an E55K again.

Then I get a text message this afternoon from the seller to say he has sold the car. A little confused I gave him a call and he said he had a call from someone yesterday, they turned up today and bought the car. I asked why and didn't understand as we had a deal with me coming across to buy the car tomorrow. I told him I had booked the afternoon off work, bought my train tickets and why didn't he call me to let me know that he was selling the car to someone else after we agreed a deal already. He said he was sorry and didn't realise I was coming by train. Not sure how else I was going to get circa 4 hours away but kind of irrelevant I guess.

Wasted an hour or so working out how I was going to get there and buy the train tickets. Looks like he has sold the car for £500 more than we had agreed so I guess some people care more about their back pocket and an extra £500 than morals, ethics or ways to treat people.

Has cost me £70 in train tickets I can't cancel or get my money back on as he only let me know less than 24 hours before I was due to travel on the first train. Maybe this one wasn't meant to be.

What is wrong with people these days?!
Really sorry to hear this, very disappointing the way you had been treated. 😥😥 Not fair. Hope the seller gets a mole on his face that never stops growing.
 
Really sorry to hear this, very disappointing the way you had been treated. 😥😥 Not fair. Hope the seller gets a mole on his face that never stops growing.
Thanks. It is a very disappointing but I'll get over it. I guess not everyone thinks the same way.

I have had the same situation many times myself but I have always treated people the right way and stuck to my word regardless if 'better' offers came along. It happened with my E43 I sold recently in fact and the Jaguar XJL Supersport the same. In both cases and other cases I had higher offers come in after I had agreed a deal with a buyer. The cars hadn't been sold completely, no deposit received and not even been viewed but I stuck to the deal I had agreed in every case.

I treat people the way I would like to be treated myself and would never sell a car to someone else regardless of any increased offers if I had already agreed a deal with someone else first.

Funny old world.
 

So had a chat on the phone with the seller on this one on Friday late afternoon. Explained I didn't want to waste his or my time if we weren't in the right ballpark numbers wise. We both agreed we were in the right ball park so all good. Was aiming to get across this weekend but my BiL couldn't give me a lift over and trains over the weekend were less frequent so would have been a much longer journey. Agreed on Saturday morning that I'd get across late Monday PM circa 5:30-6pm when the seller was back from work. Deal provisionally done short of the final exact sale price being agreed as it was hard to offer a hard final amount as I hadn't seen or driven the car but we had a figure in mind we were both happy with so good enough to make the fairly long journey.

Booked the afternoon off work and bought my train tickets all ready for tomorrow looking forward to being in an E55K again.

Then I get a text message this afternoon from the seller to say he has sold the car. A little confused I gave him a call and he said he had a call from someone yesterday, they turned up today and bought the car. I asked why and didn't understand as we had a deal with me coming across to buy the car tomorrow. I told him I had booked the afternoon off work, bought my train tickets and why didn't he call me to let me know that he was selling the car to someone else after we agreed a deal already. He said he was sorry and didn't realise I was coming by train. Not sure how else I was going to get circa 4 hours away but kind of irrelevant I guess.

Wasted an hour or so working out how I was going to get there and buy the train tickets. Looks like he has sold the car for £500 more than we had agreed so I guess some people care more about their back pocket and an extra £500 than morals, ethics or ways to treat people.

Has cost me £70 in train tickets I can't cancel or get my money back on as he only let me know less than 24 hours before I was due to travel on the first train. Maybe this one wasn't meant to be.

What is wrong with people these days?!
I can understand your frustration and annoyance at this.
I had the same thing happen to me although I was on the train at the time when I found the car had sold.

If you get your ticket from "Trainline" I believe you can still get a refund on an unused ticket. I know I did when I had to cancel a trip to Rochdale the night before I was due to travel.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top Bottom