Sat Nav - CLK 55 AMG

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by scottishman2, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. scottishman2

    scottishman2 Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    CLK AMG 55 Cab
    Have to confess that I am now confused, and cross eyed after going through so many forums. Help needed for this newbie!!

    My car (well -- its the wife's car really -- honest!!) is W209 first registered 28/5/2004. It has a DVD Sat Nav system that has I believe the original DVD (Version 2.0). Is it worth buying the latest disc (I believe its £196!!!) or do I just stick my Tom Tom on the dash and be done with it??
     
  2. terrymcg

    terrymcg Active Member

    Messages:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, WA.
    Car:
    W164 ML 320CDI
    Whereabouts do you live mate? I could sort you out with one!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    scottishman2

    scottishman2 Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    CLK AMG 55 Cab
    Despite the name Terry - I'm in Hertfordshire!!
     
  4. terrymcg

    terrymcg Active Member

    Messages:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, WA.
    Car:
    W164 ML 320CDI
    Ahh...Once your post count is up ill drop you a PM, as it wont let me at the moment.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2011
  5. OP
    OP
    scottishman2

    scottishman2 Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    CLK AMG 55 Cab
    ok ... I'll get posting. Cheers...
     
  6. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
  7. OP
    OP
    scottishman2

    scottishman2 Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    CLK AMG 55 Cab
    being Scottish .. I like the idea of it being "cheap".... or is that just a myth?? Thx npuk...
     
  8. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    6,211
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY18 GLC63s
    Dont use a copied disk. (a) its illegal and (b) the units seem to get much hotter with copied disks than original disks and that will reduce the life of the COMAND unit and that is an expensive issue then.

    If you've lived with V2 for such a long time and you don't want to fork out £200 odd quid, find an original V11.0 on eBay if you can. There are lots of people (me included) who update the disks just to keep up to date. MB recommend every year, I recommend updates when you notice something is missing, unless you travel the country all the time !

    Richard

    Richard
     
  9. OP
    OP
    scottishman2

    scottishman2 Active Member

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Car:
    CLK AMG 55 Cab
    Not thinking of a copied disc -- and have only lived with V2 for 3 weeks since I bought the beast.... but I will probably spend the money on the new version - got to be better than my wife turning maps upside down!!!
     
  10. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.